Danny Breslin

How it is…

The Wonderful Wizards of Aus

It’s all my fault, I knew I should have kept my unholy gob shut! Yet I did predict this disaster, didn’t I say they’d be back?

I am referring of course to the new life breathed into Australian cricket and the thrashing (and I don’t use that word lightly!) handed out to the touring England team down under. I knew after the first test, but wouldn’t admit to myself, that the Aussies were going to regain the coveted Ashes. It was almost a certainty after the second test because we were two-nil down and then had to visit Perth – we never win in Perth.

So it proved to be true. While England stuttered at the crease the Aussies swatted the ball around the WACA with ease. While England toiled in the field the Aussies looked like they were just enjoying the sunshine. Lyon found spin and turn where Swann could not. Meanwhile Johnson, Siddle, Watson and Harris thundered in like they were wishing permanent harm to their foe. All the while England were cracking at the same rate as the Perth pitch.

(By the way Mitchell Johnson – that’s a very, very pale impression of Dennis Lillee you’re attempting to pull off with that stupid moustache, not even Merv Hughes mate!)

Yes, congratulations Australia “fair”, but remember: you’re at our place next so you’d better not forget to bring that little urn with you!

ashes

This post is especially for my mates in or from Australia – “G’day”…I’m not bitter.

December 19, 2013 - Posted by | Stuff and Nonsense | , , , , , , , ,

13 Comments »

  1. Hard to hit a man when he’s down, but i’m afraid to say it must be done: B’wahahaaaa! Quietly i’m just relieved Oz managed to pull off a sporting victory this year, as late as it was. It hasn’t been a good time.

    Comment by john zande | December 19, 2013 | Reply

    • Bah! I’ve never liked cricket anyway – stupid game!

      Comment by Danny Breslin | December 19, 2013 | Reply

  2. Aussie Aussie Aussie Oi Oi Oi
    Aussie Aussie Aussie Oi Oi Oi
    Aussie Aussie Aussie Oi Oi Oi
    Eat ya heart out Danny :) :) :)

    Comment by Alison | December 19, 2013 | Reply

    • Hmmmmm

      Comment by Danny Breslin | December 19, 2013 | Reply

      • I’m not gloating or anything :)

        Comment by Alison | December 19, 2013

      • Oh no, not at all.

        Comment by Danny Breslin | December 19, 2013

  3. I’m afraid I won’t be losing sleep over it either way. You win some and you lose some.

    Comment by Christopher Meade | December 19, 2013 | Reply

    • True. It wouldn’t matter to me if it was anyone else but I love it when we beat them because they really take it to heart.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | December 19, 2013 | Reply

  4. I´m sorry for your lose.
    By the way you know it´s snowing in your blog? It´s actually snowing in a hole bunch of other blogs….you guy´s are strange.

    Comment by charlypriest | December 20, 2013 | Reply

    • Yeah, it started around the beginning of the month, dunno why. I suppose WordPress thinks it’s festive.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | December 20, 2013 | Reply

      • Well wordpress has a grudge against me, cause in mine nothing is falling out of the sky, not even money.

        Comment by charlypriest | December 20, 2013

      • Lol

        Comment by Danny Breslin | December 20, 2013


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,703 other followers

