Danny Breslin

How it is…

Happy New Year everybody!

Okay, maybe this post is over a week late but the sentiment remains the same – HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

My sister bought me a juicer for Christmas so you can guess what my resolution was…yes that’s right, see how much dust the thing can gather in the cupboard. Not really, I’m only kidding! I’ve started a seven day juice detox today and intend to stick with it; I need to get years of poison and self-administered food and drink abuse out of my system so I’m not even sure 7 days will be enough.

This was my breakfast:

2 apples

1/4 lime

1/4 pineapple

1/4 medium sized cucumber

1/4 avocado

10 oz. wheatgrass

And if that don’t have you hanging your head over the bowl I don’t know what will: it came out of the blender dark green – yeuch. I got the recipe from the Juice Master and I think the point might be that after throwing up and then beating him half to death I will feel so much better!

I can’t wait to see what’s for lunch :-(

Something else I wanted to tell you about: I actually WROTE a letter! Not typed, not emailed – wrote, with a pen and paper. Wow. It has been that long since I did it the old-fashioned way I wasn’t sure if I could anymore.

I mean sure I make notes with a pen and paper but they are mostly illegible scrawls, a code known only to me, but a full letter in readable English? I’m still not sure how I managed it.

What happened was my uncle sent a xmas card and put a note in to say he was sorry he hadn’t read my book Me & Gus on the Roof of the World but he didn’t do eBooks, or emails for that matter. I wrote back to him to let him know he could get it on Amazon as a paperback (another shameless plug but I am, by definition, not ashamed hehehehe).

Writing a letter by hand feels good, much more personal than typing it out or emailing. I’m going to do it more often and I reckon you should give it a go too. As for detoxing…I’ll leave that up to you.

January 8, 2014 - Posted by | Me & Gus on the Roof of the World, Stuff and Nonsense | , , , , , ,

18 Comments »

  1. Happy New Year. I’m waiting to see how long you can last before you grab a bar of chocolate. I last about 2 days and then I get really grumpy so they feed me in my sleep! You will do better than me for sure though. Hope your 2014 has been good so far

    Comment by cupitonians | January 8, 2014 | Reply

    • Feed you in your sleep? That made me laugh and made this mission a lot easier. Thanks mate.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | January 8, 2014 | Reply

  2. I’m glad you didn’t throw a raw egg into your detox concoction. Seems like I have read about people doing that. :(

    Comment by ladysighs | January 8, 2014 | Reply

    • Oh yuck! If I had thrown one in I’d have thrown it back up.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | January 8, 2014 | Reply

  3. Happy New Year. I tried detoxing as well, but the fruit was so expensive, I just gave it up. A decent funeral would be cheaper and probably more fun.

    Comment by Christopher Meade | January 8, 2014 | Reply

    • Probably, but I don’t have a decent suit to be buried in.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | January 8, 2014 | Reply

  4. Happy New Year. We’ve bought and given away too many juicers. No more said. lol :-)

    Comment by The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap | January 8, 2014 | Reply

    • I am already starting to regret it and this is only day one.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | January 8, 2014 | Reply

  5. And a very happy and prosperous New Year to you, Danny.

    Comment by richardmax22 | January 8, 2014 | Reply

  6. Happy New Year!!!

    Comment by cravesadventure | January 8, 2014 | Reply

  7. Happy New Year and great post. I miss letter writing too.

    Comment by vastlycurious.com | January 9, 2014 | Reply

    • It’s a satisfying way of communicating because it’s more personal.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | January 9, 2014 | Reply

      • I agree and decided because of you to write a letter : )

        Comment by vastlycurious.com | January 9, 2014

      • That’s great! I hope it brings a lot of pleasure to whoever receives it.

        Comment by Danny Breslin | January 10, 2014

      • He will : ) ~

        Comment by vastlycurious.com | January 10, 2014

  8. Happy Juicing, Danny,it’s worth a try. I’ve heard stories of good results (notice the “heard stories of”, not “had”, good results)..

    Comment by vb holmes | January 9, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,702 other followers

