Danny Breslin

How it is…

Don’t find time, make it!

This is it, this is all I have written this morning: this post. The guilt is killing me.

I haven’t just been sitting around, watching tv and scratching (everybody has to have a hobby), I’ve been working but just not writing, therefore I feel like I’ve nothing to show for my endeavours.

“So what have you been doing with your time?” I hear you cry behind a muffled yawn. I’ve been keeping up with my social media. I’ve been reading and replying to comments, reading other peoples’ blogs and commenting on their musings. I’ve opened letters, I’ve made phone calls, I’ve made appointments; I’ve done lots of things but I have not written an actual word for “Me and Gus on the Roof of the World.”

I’d promised myself I’d get a couple of thousand words in before lunch. I’ve got other things to get on with this afternoon which can’t be put off because I have a deadline to meet. Tomorrow is Saturday so I’m going to meet the lads down the pub as usual. Sunday is no good because my beloved Villa are on the tv putting local rivals West Brom to the sword – or less than valiantly falling on it. I can’t write before the match because I suffer with PMT (pre-match tension), and after the game is not good because I’ll either be too excited and unable to concentrate, or spiritually crushed…again! Monday is out because it’s my birthday and her ladyship is taking me shopping – booooo!

Am I not going to be able to write until Tuesday? I’m going to have to sort myself out. I emailed fellow blogger, marketing genius and all-round nice guy Danny Iny, of Firepole Marketing fame and asked him how he found the time to be so productive. He replied that he didn’t worry about the amount he had to do, he just got on with it. Sound advice.

I going to make a promise to myself. I am no longer going to find time, I’m going to make time. I am going to take a fresh look at my daily schedule and look for blocks of time where I could be doing something instead of doing nothing. An hour or two less in front of the tv at night, being bombarded with crap, will be good for me. I will give it a go because I know that I’ll go to bed happier and feeling more fulfilled because my productivity will have risen.

It won’t be like I’m driving myself too hard because I really love what I do. I won’t give up the important time that I spend with my wife in the evening, but she goes to bed early because she has to get up early to commute. That time on my own can be used for something more useful than watching tv or shooting dozens of baddies on my xbox 360.

Unless there’s footy on then screw work!

September 28, 2012 - Posted by | Writing Your First Book | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Danny if you haven’t read it yet, read Steve Pressfield The War of Art. He talks about the arch enemy of writers- Resistance. I highly recommend it. I’ve had similar days too and now I can beat back that resistance.

    Comment by Sophia | September 29, 2012 | Reply

    • Hey thanks Sophia, I’ve just ordered it from Amazon. The reviews look good; but remember, I have bought it on your recommendation so if it’s rubbish then I’ll be blaming you! Just joking, thanks for the heads up my friend, I’ll let you know how I get on with it. Have a good day.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | September 30, 2012 | Reply

  2. I can totally relate to this! I also love to write and writing is part (not all) of my job. But sometimes…it does seem like I’m finding time rather than making time! I haven’t found something that works for me 100% of the time. Recently, I wake up a little earlier, make tea, and walk straight to the computer. Before my partner wakes up, and while my dog is still sleepy (although, arguably, he’s sleepy all the time).

    Best of luck in making time!

    Comment by echoes of critical thought | September 30, 2012 | Reply

    • Yeah, tea is good. I don’t understand what the big thing is about coffee, it tastes way too bitter and it gives me the s****! (too much info, sorry) It’s not easy when other people and dogs are making demands of your time so you just have to put your foot down and say “Hey, this is my time, it’s important. You walk the thing.”

      Comment by Danny Breslin | October 2, 2012 | Reply

  3. Footy! Footy!!! Footy!!!!

    Comment by colliesofthemeadow | October 5, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

