Danny Breslin

How it is…

Not a travel writer? So what are you?

The book I’m writing at the moment: “Me and Gus on the Roof of the World.” isn’t a travel journal as such. I’ve read travel journals as such and they are written by seasoned travellers; folk who really know the road. Yeah I’ve travelled, I’ve visited places on 5 continents but I’m not a seasoned traveller and I could get lost walking down my street, so how can I call myself a travel writer?

I don’t. My book is about a journey that I travelled (so far so good) to the highest region on earth, but I hate heights, stepping off the kerb gives me chills. The proverbial fish out of water; perhaps that was why I was flapping about gasping for breath? Any would be adventurer who is looking for a guidebook to the region should perhaps try another shelf.

It is not a spiritual journey, where I find myself and turn a corner in my life. I was not overly affected by culture shock, my attitudes to life weren’t changed by exposure to Buddhism, Hinduism or Maoism. I didn’t have a “Road to Damascus” moment and suddenly turn my back on my wicked ways. So anyone looking for a deeply meaningful religious or cultural theme will be disappointed.

It’s a story that features the effect that mountain sickness had on me, how my brain reacted when starved of oxygen, but it’s not a medical textbook.

So what does it offer you? That, my prospective reader, is a question yet to be answered. There are no great life lessons in it, it’s just a mix of comedy and adventure. Two ordinary lads out on the town, only it’s not their town. That’s it in a nutshell I think: an ordinary bloke put in an extraordinary situation and how he handles it. So what if it reads like a novel, like fiction? It is a true story, it’s my story –  at least a small part of it.

I offer you my art, my craft. Don’t look for something to change your life within its pages, just enjoy it. That’s all I ask. Now if I could just get the bloody thing finished…

October 10, 2012 - Posted by | Me & Gus on the Roof of the World | , , , , , , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. You still haven’t answered my question about your Facebook page.

    Comment by Yaz | October 10, 2012 | Reply

    • Oh no Yaz, I’m so sorry…I’m not normally this half-witted, ok quarter-witted. I think I might have hit reply to the email telling me you’d commented, or something, I don’t know. Anyway, in answer to your question (at last), I haven’t yet set up a facebook page or a twitter account. I keep meaning to but with the million and one other things going on….
      I’ll get on to it asap, I promise. I’ll let you know when it is done. Friends again? : (

      Comment by Danny Breslin | October 10, 2012 | Reply

      • Find out how others are using Facebook to promote their books, then I can share the pages. It is a mission to keep it all up, but if you want the best-seller….!! Best of luck!

        Comment by Yaz | October 10, 2012

  2. I’m looking forward to reading it! Even your description of the story makes it seem relateable and fun. But the finishing of the work, that really is the challenge!

    Comment by Audrey | October 10, 2012 | Reply

    • I’ll try not to let you down. I’ve already got two prequels planned but more on those when I’ve got this one out of the way.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | October 10, 2012 | Reply

  3. Can’t wait to read. Good luck with it…

    Comment by flyingbubbles | October 12, 2012 | Reply

  4. Cant wait to see your book! 🙂

    Comment by colliesofthemeadow | October 14, 2012 | Reply

  5. I love your sense of humor and can’t wait to read how your brain handled the lack of oxygen as you tramped around the mountains.

    Comment by sandrabranum | October 15, 2012 | Reply

    • I don’t think it handled it well, I still owe apologies to quite a few people.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | October 16, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

