Danny Breslin

How it is…

Where Credit is Due

Many books you read include a list of acknowledgements, this may vary from just a few names to detailed descriptions of how each individual has helped the author. Why is this important you mutter to yourself as you skip past looking for chapter one. It is important to the author and it is read and appreciated by the peolple who are listed.

Some authors have said that being a writer is a lonely job, spending long hours alone sweating over a keyboard. Yes, that’s true but there is, for me at least, a number of people who have made it possible for this to happen. I owe a great debt of gratitude to many people:

My wife for putting up with me and helping me through some difficult times – my muse, my rock. My mom for all my best characteristics; my dad for a few of my less desirable ones but also for the gift of storytelling and creativity. I wish my parents could have still been with me to see the publishing of my first book. My sister for being a great sister and her family who are good to me. My mates who have always stood with me and been in my corner even when I’ve been a bit of a knob – and sometimes alot of a knob. My friend Jamie who after listening to, and no doubt been bored to tears by, my tales for the last few years finally pushed me towards writing them down: “You’ve gotta write a book Unc!” (He calls me Uncle, it’s a long story…) So young Jamjam, if this all falls flat on its face it’s your bloody fault!

I read something this morning that brought me to writing this post. It is on a calender on my desk which has motivational quotes for each day of the year, it was the letter to George Bailey from Clarence the Angel in “It’s a Wonderful Life.”

Dear George, Remember no man is a failure who has friends. Thanks for the wings! Love, Clarence

So Jamie, thanks for the wings!

You’re never alone, so don’t forget to give credit where credit is due and let the people around you know how important they are to you.

Drop me a comment and tell me who you are grateful for and why.

 

October 30, 2012 - Posted by | Writing Your First Book | , , , , , , , , ,

18 Comments »

  1. The people around us really do make such a difference! Sounds like you’ve got a great crew backing you up.
    With my upcoming humanitarian aid trip to Israel I’ve had an awesome bunch of people step up to help and encourage. My boyfriend, “J”, has been a major support with all of this – that man is the stability in my life that frees me to do the crazy adventures. My parents have been on board from the get-go and I’m glad they’re proud of the work I do overseas. The brothers are all over it too. And then there are the dozens of friends who have chipped in some of their own money over the years to get me to these places. It’s humbling to step back and see all the people that it takes to make these trips a success.
    Great post topic, keeps us grateful for the wonderful folks in our lives. 🙂

    Comment by Audrey | October 30, 2012 | Reply

    • Sounds like you’re very lucky to have all these great people around you.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | November 1, 2012 | Reply

  2. My hubby and daughter support my writing career, and are always open and honest in their critiques. This means I know I can trust them fully. Its all we need, right? And Danny, if only three people read your novel, it will still be a success by virtue of the fact that you followed your passion and put pen to paper. Don’t let society determine your sense of success. Okay, lecture over.

    Comment by Yaz | October 30, 2012 | Reply

  3. One of many things, but I am grateful for the blogging community and the world of people I’ve been introduced to that I otherwise might never have met!

    Comment by sarahsolmonson | October 31, 2012 | Reply

    • I have to agree, there are some very talented and brilliant people out there.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | November 1, 2012 | Reply

  4. My hubby -beautiful man- http://flyingbubbles.wordpress.com/2012/10/17/beautiful-manbeautiful-perfume/
    And daughter

    Comment by flyingbubbles | October 31, 2012 | Reply

  5. Definitely the most grateful for my mom and my boyfriend. I’m lucky to have them both as support systems.

    Comment by Katie | October 31, 2012 | Reply

  6. Hi Danny. I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger award. Check it out.
    http://flyingbubbles.wordpress.com/2012/11/02/a-great-start-to-november-with-an-award/

    Comment by flyingbubbles | November 2, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks so much Bubbles. Can’t wait to tell my dog Bones he’s not the only one who gets nominated for awards.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | November 9, 2012 | Reply

  7. Grateful for my family for they are always there through all the ups and downs of life.. 🙂

    Comment by colliesofthemeadow | November 7, 2012 | Reply

  8. Very true Danny. I think it is so easy with our fast-paced world to forget where we come from and how we have gotten there. We have much to be grateful for.

    Comment by Andy | November 16, 2012 | Reply

    • The world is too fast-paced, people don’t have a minute to spare for anyone else. I think if everyone took a step back, even for a few seconds, to appreciate life the whole world would be a better place for us all.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | November 16, 2012 | Reply

  9. This is excellent. I guess I’m weird in that I actually like to look at the acknowledgements in books. Makes the writer more human to me or something. Shows me what they care about, I guess. I don’t know. But I also feel like one of the most important parts of my books is going to be that acknowledgement page, even if no one but me and those who are on it ever read it. I wouldn’t have the book if not for those people. Thanks for bringing this up.

    Comment by Megan Peterson (@OpalescentOkapi) | November 17, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks for your comment : ) I just think we shouldn’t take for granted the amount of time and effort others put in to our lives just by being there for us.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | November 19, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

