Danny Breslin

How it is…

You’re Not Helping!

Everyone has a moment in their lives which they think back upon and cringe, you might have several, my list runs into the hundreds. There is one awful, dreadful incident that I will share with you now that has haunted me since I was a teenager and makes me want to curl up into a ball every time it pokes its head up and whispers in my ear: “Remember that time when…” Please don’t think less of me, I was young and very, very drunk.

A few years ago I used to drink in this pub, which will remain nameless but suffice to say it was not the sort of place you would like to stumble into accidently. Yet despite its reputation with both punters and police due to regular outbreaks of violence it was a magical place. It may have been wall to wall nutters but that meant there was no chance of getting bored. The women loved it in there because the place was always jumping and the atmosphere was electric, they would often ignore the attraction of the trendy town centre pubs and make sure they finished the night in this den of rascals.

Early one saturday evening I walked in to meet the usual suspects and in the corner was a young woman who I went to school with but hadn’t seen in a while. I got my pint and went to say hello. “You ain’t been in, you ok?”

“Yeah I’ve had a bit of a rough time recently, my boyfriend was killed in a motorcycle accident last month and I only came out tonight because my friends made me.”

There wasn’t alot I could say, I knew her boyfriend on nodding terms but no better than that. I told her I was sorry for her troubles and if she needed anything then she should just ask any of us and left it at that.

Fast forward three hours and I’d had a fair few pints.  I was headed to the toilet to relieve the pressure, my half cut gait the usual 18 year old mix of swagger and stagger, when I came across my friend again, this time she was crying. Being a gallant sort of gentleman I decided to try and comfort her so I walked over and said: “What’s wrong? Is it cos your boyfriend’s dead?”

November 20, 2012 - Posted by | Stuff and Nonsense | , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. At least you can blame it on the beer!

    Comment by gabrielablandy | November 20, 2012 | Reply

    • As I have blamed so much for in the past.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | November 21, 2012 | Reply

  2. Alcohol has a way of bringing out the diplomacy in all of us!

    Comment by Audrey | November 20, 2012 | Reply

  3. I suppose you could look at it in this way – you were doing well to work it out at the end of a night drinking!!!

    Comment by Clowie | November 21, 2012 | Reply

    • At that age I was doing well if I hadn’t been thrown out by then.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | November 21, 2012 | Reply

  4. LOL….. ah yes, some memories are best forgotten! I have a million of them… amazing what can accidentally come out of the mouth with no ill intentions meant….
    the collies and chuck 🙂

    Comment by colliesofthemeadow | November 27, 2012 | Reply

  5. I know, the times I’ve wished I put my brain in gear before opening my mouth

    Comment by Danny Breslin | November 30, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

