Danny Breslin

How it is…

Do the Right Thing

I’m going to preach now, you ready?

When I was at university there was a guy who was nicknamed Formerly Known As David, he didn’t want to be called David anymore because he was waiting for his operation that would help him become a woman. Why he wanted to do this was not only a mystery to me, it was also none of my business. I didn’t know him, had never spoken to him nor he to me, we moved in different circles, but I had seen him around campus dressed badly in a miniskirt he didn’t have the legs for and still walking like a man.

I lived with an insane welshman and two women but not in the biblical sense, we were just friends since we all started there so we got a place together in the second year. One of the women had a boyfriend who often spent time at our house. One day he brought up the subject of Formerly Known As David. He said he thought it was disgusting. I laughed, and said it wasn’t really any of his business, it was up to Formerly to choose his path whether others agreed with it or not.

This didn’t satisfy him though: “I tell you what, he’s going to find himself in  trouble soon.” he said ominously.

“What sort of trouble?”

“There’s some people who are going to give him a beating!”

“Like who?” I asked, but I already knew the answer. He was referring to his mates, I knew them only through him and I didn’t like any of them as soon as I met them. “Your lads?” He didn’t reply but I could see by his face that I was right. “Ok, let me know when and I’ll turn up, but I’ll be on his side.”

He went red, “What? But you don’t know him.”

“Doesn’t matter, I’ve known people like your dickhead mates all my life, not one of them has got an ounce of guts. You let them know what I said, and if they’ve got any questions they know where I live.”

I left it at that and found it no surprise that Formerly went unharmed. I never told him what happened, never spoke to him nor he to me, we moved in different circles.

So, the moral of the story: You will doubtless be confronted with situations like this where you are faced with a majority view that you don’t agree with, that you know is wrong; it is far too easy to keep quiet and take the safe option. Have courage and be heard. I’m no tough guy, I’m not a hero but I will not stand by and see bad things happen to the innocent. Sometimes you have to stand up and say no, even when the rest of your community/friends/family shout you down.

Be strong, be brave and always do what you believe is right – and if there is nobody there to back you up, Breslin is there with you in spirit, always.

Here endeth the lesson.

December 19, 2012 - Posted by | Stuff and Nonsense | , ,

13 Comments »

  1. Hats off to you Breslin! And lots of love to ‘Formerly’.

    Comment by Yaz | December 19, 2012 | Reply

  2. Amen, brother!!

    Comment by Audrey | December 19, 2012 | Reply

  3. Yes, preach it brother, love your spirit!!!

    Comment by Seyi sandra | December 19, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks sis, I don’t like to preach but what’s right is right.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | January 2, 2013 | Reply

  4. You are to be commended. I have a daughter who is gay. I don’t understand it, but I accept it. I wish I could say I would be as accepting if it were one of my sons. I hope I would. Several years ago I made a meat delivery to a men’s gay bar. I didn’t know it was a gay bar. Infact, my first thoughts were, “man, there are a bunch of ugly women in here.” Ofcourse it didn’t take long to figure it they were men dressed in women’s clothes. Because I was almost out of gas I had to fill up at a gas station directly across the street. The pay station faced directly toward the bar I had just left. It was funny. Even though the teller was a total stranger, I found myself explaining to her why I had just left this bar. I guess it’s a guy thing.

    Comment by richardmax22 | December 21, 2012 | Reply

    • A meat delivery to a gay bar? Seriously? If I was you I’d either re-phrase that or keep it to myself hahaha!
      Don’t get me wrong I’m no defender of gay rights, if that’s what they’re into then that’s up to them, I mind my own business. I just don’t like people picking on others because they are different. And I don’t like people only having the courage to attack those who are weaker than themselves.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | December 21, 2012 | Reply

  5. Who are we to judge. We need to mind our own business

    Comment by flyingbubbles | December 25, 2012 | Reply

    • Exactly, each to their own. He wasn’t hurting anyone.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | January 2, 2013 | Reply

  6. Wonderful! Takes courage to stand up for others and I’m glad you did! Shows amazing integrity!

    Comment by Beauty of Freedom | December 26, 2012 | Reply

    • It didn’t take alot of courage really, I knew his little mob didn’t have the stomach for someone who would fight back.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | January 2, 2013 | Reply

  7. […] told you tales from when I was at university, living in the Halls of Residence in the first year and annoying my friend Kate the other two […]

    Pingback by Bogged down « Danny Breslin | November 15, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

