Danny Breslin

How it is…

…and a Happy New Year

You might have noticed I took a little break over Christmas, this was because I thought to myself: “Everyone else is taking a break why shouldn’t I?” With that over with I have to re-motivate myself, drag my lazy backside out of my fireside armchair and get some work done. Bah humbug!

The festive period’s traditional highlight was of course the Christmas party which, I’m reliably informed, I enjoyed immensely. And why not? Free jukebox which we abused and sang along with to our hearts’ delight, while draining barrels like beer was threatened with impending prohibition. Marion picks me up and my mate’s pour me into the car while I shout abuse at anyone who cares to listen, and there is a bowl waiting to be placed on my lap – just in case.

The only dark cloud over this festive period was my team’s pathetic attempts at playing the beautiful game. We shipped fifteen goals in three games without reply, yes you read that right…15! Words cannot describe the feeling as the one you love let’s you down that badly. After losing 8-0 to Chelsea and 4-0 to Spurs I had to face Baggy Bri who for once actually managed a micro smile as he crowed: “Thum twalve gowls uv chrismus, yum lot am loda f****** s***!” (The twelve goals of Christmas, it appears you chaps aren’t very good.)

“It’s a Christmas miracle!” I exclaimed.

“Worris?” (What is?)

“Somebody has finally been able to teach you to count.”

“******* ****!” (?)

I thought we’d bounce back against Wigan but no, showing as much spine as a team of slugs we were massacred yet again by fellow strugglers, 3-0.

Anyway enough of that doom and gloom. It is time to set new year resoloutions in motion. This year I’m promising myself that I will work even harder to finishMe & Gus on the Roof of the World and  start a second book; live healthier, eat better and exercise more (that one won’t be easy); be nice to everyone I meet (I know I’ll never manage that but I just threw it in for a laugh.)

Drop me a comment and let me know what your new year’s resolution is, then in a couple of months I’ll check back to see if you’ve kept it up.

Happy New Year my friends, I hope 2013 is your best year yet and brings you much joy.

January 2, 2013 - Posted by | Stuff and Nonsense | , , , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. Not doin’ and bleedin’ resolutions! Can’t take the pressure 🙂

    PS your post made me laugh.

    Comment by Alison | January 2, 2013 | Reply

    • Maybe you’re right, it’s worse when you tell other people your resolutions and they come back to you with “oh, I thought you were giving up chocolate/smoking/drinking/crack…” etc

      Comment by Danny Breslin | January 2, 2013 | Reply

      • Exactly. Intention is better, but it can be a bit slippery too.

        Comment by Alison | January 2, 2013

  2. Happy new year Danny!

    Comment by Yaz | January 2, 2013 | Reply

    • And to you Yaz, have a good one mate.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | January 2, 2013 | Reply

  3. Danny I don’t really have New Year resolutions… Or maybe I do! Improve on my good traits and chuck off the bad ones… Can’t wait to read your book!!

    Comment by Seyi sandra | January 2, 2013 | Reply

  4. My condolences about the games – such a pity! I’ve been cheering our Seattle football team over the holidays and they didn’t disappoint so here we go into the playoffs.
    You’ve got a great list of resolutions and no mistake. All the best of luck with the continued work on your book – I’m excited to hear more about it! I’ve got some writing goals up my sleeve for the year too: a cookbook and such. But mostly I hope to do much more traveling!
    Happy New Year to you, Danny!

    Comment by Audrey | January 2, 2013 | Reply

  5. Hey Danny…Happy New Year…

    Comment by flyingbubbles | January 5, 2013 | Reply

  6. Hi Danny, Yaz sent me over for a cup of coffee! 😉

    I’m not a fan of resolutions (I have a Bucket List instead!). I plan to check off at least a couple of things from my list this year!
    Like Audrey mentioned above, I’m rooting for our Seahawks who are in the playoffs for the Super Bowl! whoop whoop!! We warmly welcome new fans!

    Comment by Denise Hisey | January 8, 2013 | Reply

    • Pleased to meet you Denise. Good luck to the Seahawks, I’ll keep an eye out when they play. I’m not a massive fan of NFL but I must admit I always watch when the Steelers play because they played in the first game I ever saw on tv when I was like 6-7 or something. I’ve followed them ever since. Pity they didn’t make it into the play-offs but Big Ben was out for a few games, maybe next year?

      Comment by Danny Breslin | January 11, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

