Danny Breslin

How it is…

Not a Word

The one thing that I really detest about christmas is the disruption it causes in my life. I know that sounds a bit OCD but I like a bit of regimentation to my day and get frustrated easily if I can’t get done what I wanted to get done. That short period between 24th December and 2nd January is a sort of no-man’s land in time. I lose track of what day it is and there is always things to do that drag me away from my computer. That’s why I haven’t been posting as regularly as I like to, and I haven’t written as much towards completing “Me & Gus on the Roof of the World.”

Yesterday was going to be a day dedicated to working on the book but then Her Majesty decides she is having time off work and needs the computer. I had, in the past, offered to get her a laptop but she decided she wanted a netbook, now she says it’s awkward to work on so she uses my machine – grrrrrrr!

I let her get on with it and found other things to do but I was still grinding my teeth. Today then would be me and my keyboard in perfect harmony, fingers whirring faster than light and beautiful prose flowing across the electronic page. Alas when I got up and fired it up to check emails there was no broadband. After half an hour’s messing about I decided the router was the cause of my pain. I phoned my internet provider and spent another half hour trying to follow his instructions while deciphering his inpenetrable Belfast accent. Finally it was up and running after rebooting the router. Happily I went down for a late breakfast while she was off walking the dogs.

Then an email came through as she came home that she “must deal with immediately.” Finally, after her endless messing about I was able to get myself set up to write. And….nothing. The page sat there, as blank and virgin as a fresh field of snow. I could not think where I would start. I knew what I was writing about because it was from memory, recounting an event that actually happened, but putting it into words? Nope!

I spent time staring at the screen before rattling out a thousand word nonsense that I will probably delete tomorrow anyway. I’m typing this post before going to BANG MY HEAD AGAINST A CONVENIENT WALL!

My friends, any tips and ideas for next time I get into this situation, and you can count on the fact that I will, would be so gratefully accepted.

January 8, 2013 - Posted by | Writing Your First Book | , , , , , , ,

23 Comments »

  1. Just write until the ‘nonsense’ clears and you start making sense. It might take a while, but it clears the mental pipes.

    Comment by Yaz | January 8, 2013 | Reply

    • Yeah that usually works for me but this time it just came out wrong and wasn’t getting any better the more I typed. My brain was a bit scrambled from the effort of trying to be nice to people over christmas.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | January 10, 2013 | Reply

  2. Holidays really do mess up the daily schedule so much, and it’s hard to get right back into after being “away” for two weeks. And getting writer’s block after finally get your hands back on the keyboard had to be the worst! Condolences to you, Danny… Here’s to a productive writing day!

    Comment by Audrey | January 8, 2013 | Reply

  3. Oh Lord, computers can sometimes be so frustrating! I have gone through the same more times than I care to remember.

    Comment by richardmax22 | January 8, 2013 | Reply

    • I’m going to write my next one with pen and paper.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | January 10, 2013 | Reply

  4. I agree with Yaz – just write, even if it’s nonsense. If you think you’ve nothing to say (or think you don’t know how to say it) that would be relevant for the book then write whatever comes into your head, stream of consciousness. What comes out will probably astonish you. Or not. But it should help “clear the mental pipes” so you can get going again.

    Also I bet the stress of not being able to get at the computer for one reason or another when you so wanted to was the real culprit. All you went through to finally get to write sucked away all the spontaneity.

    Hugs, and good luck.

    Comment by Alison | January 9, 2013 | Reply

    • Thanks Alison, I just wish I had a stream of consciousness in the first place!

      Comment by Danny Breslin | January 10, 2013 | Reply

      • Oh I bet you do! Just try it 🙂

        Comment by Alison | January 10, 2013

  5. Ah, writers block. It is horrible, but what I try to do is look at my collies and as they do whatever they choose to do I let my imagination take it over…. now with Bones around your imagination and he may be able to help you overcome the block!
    God Bless You!
    the collies and chuck 🙂

    Comment by colliesofthemeadow | January 13, 2013 | Reply

    • If only I didn’t spend so much time chasing him to get my slippers back!

      Comment by Danny Breslin | January 16, 2013 | Reply

  6. Oh no! Hope you get the mojo back soon…

    Comment by flyingbubbles | January 14, 2013 | Reply

    • This is mojo central. I’m not even sure what that means…lol

      Comment by Danny Breslin | January 16, 2013 | Reply

  7. I agree that the only way to deal with writer’s block is to write. At least you’ll be in front of the keyboard when the block departs. Good luck!

    Comment by Loving Language | January 15, 2013 | Reply

  8. Don’t bang your head against the wall!!

    Comment by Seyi sandra | January 16, 2013 | Reply

    • Where there’s no sense there’s no feeling!

      Comment by Danny Breslin | January 17, 2013 | Reply

      • Yeah! True word!!

        Comment by Seyi sandra | January 17, 2013

  9. I write long hand…then I go to the computer. The physical and sensory act of writing ( sight, feeling the paper, hearing the pen move, etc…) seems to focus the mind. Anyway, that works for me. It takes longer, but I get to edit and rewrite when I type.
    If nothing comes, I walk away and get out of the house. Tomorrow will be better, no sense in banging my head against the wall:-)
    Thanks for stopping by and taking a look at my blog Danny.

    Comment by emmylgant | February 3, 2013 | Reply

    • You’re very welcome.
      Paper and pen you say? Hmm…I think I remember what they are.lol. I’ll give it a go next time I get a blockage. Cheers mate!

      Comment by Danny Breslin | February 4, 2013 | Reply

      • Not just pen, fountain pen! real retro. Smile.

        Comment by emmylgant | February 4, 2013

  10. Oh, I know the feeling. Frustration compounded by frustration!

    Comment by mj | March 8, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

