Danny Breslin

How it is…

Here Comes the Sun

sunshine

I don’t like winter. I didn’t mind when I was a kid and snowballing was a fun thing to do, but that was when I had decent circulation and my fingers wouldn’t turn blue and drop off. I remember walking a couple of miles on the frozen canal with my mates and even playing football on its surface with a block of ice. It’s funny but winter seemed far more idyllic in my selective memory.

Now we have a day, or maybe two when it snows. There’s no crisp, white crunch under your feet sort of snow, it melts to slush almost straight away. The sky is the colour of molten lead and the dull cloud hangs so low, heavy and brooding you feel like Atlas with the weight of the world on your shoulders.

Seasonal affective disorder wasn’t talked about when I was a kid, then when it was it seemed to be something that just happened to other people. Now I feel a cloak of pessimism wrapped around me – now I’m S.A.D.

Then yesterday the sun came out. The street outside my window was suddenly bathed in a golden warmth that crept through my every fibre until it actually lifted me into another place. A place where people smile, where they walk with a jaunty stride and stand straighter. A place where people say hello to each other as they pass!

The sunlight reached into my brain which caused thoughts and ideas to well up, it found my fingers which danced across my sunlit keyboard like a newborn spring lamb dances across a meadow. Affected yet again by the weather, I am happy.

Ok so it’s not yet spring, the wind was blowing something fierce sending clouds shooting to the far horizon and making the old tree in the neighbour’s garden sway like a retired Turkish bellydancer who really should know better, emptying its branches of starlings as effectively as a peckish hawk turning up for elevenses. Yet none of that matters as the I can’t feel the cold wind sat here at my desk, but I can feel the sun on my face and I smile back with gratitude.

happy

January 31, 2013 - Posted by | Stuff and Nonsense | , , , , , ,

21 Comments »

  1. Nothing seems as bad when the sun shines!

    Comment by Clowie | January 31, 2013 | Reply

    • I don’t blame you for moving to Spain Clowie, bet you get a bit more sun than us.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | January 31, 2013 | Reply

      • We don’t get nearly as many of those horrible, grey days. And the earliest it gets dark is about 5.30. It makes a huge difference – the winter is a lot less depressing!

        Comment by Clowie | January 31, 2013

  2. Send some of that sunshine over to us!
    It’s amazing how much the weather can affect moods, productivity, and energy level. We’ve been having days of rain, fog, and icy mornings. It makes me just want to curl up in bed and read books all day (which really isn’t such a bad gig).
    Stay warm, my friend!

    Comment by Audrey | January 31, 2013 | Reply

  3. Very well written! Almost poetic. And I am the same. How I love spring!

    Comment by richardmax22 | January 31, 2013 | Reply

    • Very kind of you. I love spring too but my favourite time is a late summer afternoon sitting in a beer garden of a pub with the lads, when everything seems so peaceful and everything’s good in the world.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | February 1, 2013 | Reply

  4. So well articulated, Danny. You described exactly why we ran away from the UK 27 years ago, and only visit in the summer! Such a beautiful country when the sun shines, but it doesn’t come out often enough for me. Thanks for a good read.

    Comment by Yaz | February 2, 2013 | Reply

    • My pleasure, where did you move to? We hope to get the chance to move to somewhere sunny in a couple of years but we haven’t decided where yet. Any recommendations?

      Comment by Danny Breslin | February 3, 2013 | Reply

      • We first went to Turkey for three years, then Saudi Arabia for two years (NOT recommended!!!), then Dubai for seven years, South Africa for thirteen and now Qatar (been here for two years so far). Go somewhere warm and where you can get a job. That is our philosophy on life!

        Comment by Yaz | February 4, 2013

  5. This is exactly how I felt when I drew back my curtains two days ago and was greeted by this yellow circle up in the sky….Sunlight reached my brain in the best way too, and so did this post!

    Comment by Judith Willems | February 3, 2013 | Reply

    • Cheers my friend, glad to have been of service.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | February 3, 2013 | Reply

  6. Who couldn’t like a post about the sun.
    I taught young children…..long time ago. And of course you know they always put the sun in a picture…….even if you tell them to draw a rainy gray day. That sun would be there someplace. 🙂

    Comment by ladysighs | February 4, 2013 | Reply

    • Hmm, I’d never thought about it before, why do they do that? Can you imagine how they must love life that no matter how awful the weather is the sun is always shining for them? Now that is something I envy.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | February 4, 2013 | Reply

  7. I quite agree.

    To escape the cold and depressing winters, I abandoned the beautiful wooded countryside of connecticut, with its lakes, rivers and softened old-growth covered mountains for the flat, hot and humid sunshine state of florida.

    Growing up in new england, I never had a problem with the winter months of my youth. There was great beauty to be found in a good connecticut snowstorm.

    But as I’ve entered the autumn of my madness, I find I simply can’t tolerate being cold. Even here in texas, where I’m currently trapped for an indefinite period, where the mercury hits 100+ in the summer for days, I find the winters can be unpleasantly chilling.

    I expect this will only get worse as I get older. Methinks I need to head for the tropics as soon as I’m able.

    Comment by Richard William Posner | February 4, 2013 | Reply

    • It creeps into your bones doesn’t it? In my 20’s I used to walk into town with my mates to go drinking on a friday and saturday night dressed in shirtsleeves or a tee-shirt in December, now I need an extra blanket on my bed from October onwards!

      Comment by Danny Breslin | February 4, 2013 | Reply

  8. Aaaahh sunshine. There’s nothing quite like it! Coming from the very bottom of New Zealand I have spent my whole life being cold, so spending time in Darwin warms me to my soul. When it’s cold it has to be proper cold though – like freeze the tips of your fingers if you don’t wear gloves. Mildly cold and wet is just unpleasant!

    Comment by Jo - Over the Edge of the Wild | February 13, 2013 | Reply

    • Trudging through slush is enough to make anyone miserable.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | February 18, 2013 | Reply

  9. Good day sunshine! I’m with you. 🙂 Paulette

    Comment by The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap | February 22, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

