Danny Breslin

How it is…

A Punch in the Face: nominations please?

I growl, grunt, shout and swear at the television news; I don’t care, it gives me a release. I shout at stupid politicians who cannot open their mouths without lying. David Cameron blushes when he lies, that’s why he’s permanently pink. George Osborne just looks sinister: his black, souless eyes like a demon on Supernatural.

I shout at the way the news reports wars as being necessary and a distinct line drawn between the good guys (that’s us in the west by the way) and the bad guys (that would be just about everyone else who doesn’t like getting s*** on by multinational corporations). I hate seeing orphaned kids, refugees whose home has been bombed out of existence, ripped up bodies of people, real people; all that is missing is the tagline: “It serves them right for being foreign.”

I shout at the ludicrous idea that the poor should be made to pay for the mistakes of the rich. The cowboy bankers have ruined the world economy so to pay for it we are slashing benefits for the poorest and most vulnerable members of society. Even if you don’t believe in handouts you can still see the problem with taking money to spend out of the hands of people who can’t work.

My dad often used to say: “Jaysus, I’d love to give him a puck in the gob.” That roughly translates from Dublin into English as “I’d love to punch him in the face.” Now I don’t condone violence as you know, but there is something very satisfying about imagining yourself punching someone who annoys you in the face. So I’ve decided to accept nominations for people in the spotlight who YOU think deserve a f****** good punch in the face and why. They can be politicians, sports people, film stars, entertainers, or the bloke next door who won’t turn his music down. I’ll choose my favourite and give them the award. Not physically you understand, this is just for a bit of a laugh, so under no circumstances should you say to yourself, “You know what? That fella really does deserve to be punched, I just pop round there now…”

IDS

My first nomination is Ian Duncan-Smith, our beloved head of the Department for Work and Pensions. Look at him there laughing at ‘the great unwashed’. He gets his nomination for his defence of the above mentioned benefit cuts by saying that he could live on £53 per week. I am not sure that this multimillionaire could pay his staff in any of his multimillion pound properties if he was just on £53 per week. So, Mr Duncan-Smith congratulations, step forward for your Punch in the Face.

Your turn – who would you like to punch in the face and why?

By the way, today is your last chance to download our Marion’s book for free so if you haven’t done it yet get over to Amazon and look for Crystal Healing & the Human Energy Field: A Beginner’s Guide by Marion McGeough. Just give her a review on Amazon, a tweeted link, a blog post etc. You know the score. For more info on Reiki you can visit her website at the British Academy of Reiki

 

April 3, 2013 - Posted by | A Punch in the Face | , , , , , , ,

15 Comments »

  1. I’ll love to punch a lot of Taliban and Pakistanis on the face, for the obnoxious, demonic and draconic blasphemy laws which kills the innocent everyday! Great post as always old friend!!
    🙂

    Comment by Seyi sandra | April 3, 2013 | Reply

  2. Whoa…calm down! That’s a helluva lot of punches you’ll be throwing, can’t you narrow it down a bit?
    Plus I’d like to add that I’m sure that, while she might take a swing at the Taliban, she doesn’t mean all of the good people of Pakistan – only the obnoxious, demonic and draconic lads.

    Comment by Danny Breslin | April 3, 2013 | Reply

  3. 70ish, very pukka English accent, says, in relation to the recent rapeviolence in India, he thinks “they” (whoever that is exactly) are asking for it a bit since they abort most of the female children so there’s not enough women to go around! Seriously? And any other person who thinks any female person of any age, at any time, is asking to be raped *ever*!

    Comment by Alison | April 3, 2013 | Reply

    • Who said that? I wouldn’t mind taking a swing at that one myself!

      Comment by Danny Breslin | April 4, 2013 | Reply

      • Some English “gentleman” I met in this little Mexican village where I’m staying.

        Comment by Alison | April 4, 2013

  4. I’d like to punch the men who recently raped the young girl in Delhi

    Comment by flyingbubbles | April 4, 2013 | Reply

    • I like to join you on that one. I’ll hold them while you beat them?

      Comment by Danny Breslin | April 4, 2013 | Reply

  5. I’d like to punch Prince Charles in the face (the whole royal family actually…you’ve got me going now) for wanting to give his condolences to the family of Holly Wells (the poor 10 year old girl who was murdered along with her friend Jessica Chapman by Ian Huntley) but calling to the parents to come to HIM at his official residence, and when they got there, they had to go through all the royal bollocks pre-meeting protocol of saying ‘Your Royal Highness’ first, then ‘Sir’ after that, and then, ‘don’t forget to bow and scrape’ (to a bunch of nobodies who think they have special bloodlines). These people had lost their child, and the c*&t couldn’t get off his arse and come to them. I hate that the royal family stands for people’s ‘betters’ when they are a bunch of freeloaders themselves. That’s just one story. I’ve got loads more, but don’t want to bore you with my anti-royal ranting!!!

    Me and my hubby had such a laugh at this post, Danny (I HAD to read it out to him!).

    By the way, please tell Marion her book is good, so I’ll do a write-up on it and send it around to a few blogs who deal with and are mad about that kind of subject.

    Comment by Yaz | April 4, 2013 | Reply

    • The day I bow and scrape to anyone, let alone an inbred German, they will need thick coats in hell. If you are going to punch a royal (which of course I do not recommend for legal reasons) just remember not to aim at the chin.
      Thanks for your help with Marion’s book, she was annoyingly excited when I told her.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | April 5, 2013 | Reply

  6. They are at it again stiring up fear. When will we learn. North Koreans are being fed on fear so they build up an arsonal and we are afraid and gather our forces. Someone decides to hit out and people suffer. The ones that profit are the ones making the wepons. Destroying the homes,towns and cities then profiting on rebuilding them. Do not punch them just do not vote for them or listen to their words of mass deception. The TV here mentions the posibility of chemical warfare. Click to another chanel try not to let the big bad wolf get to you Danny.

    Comment by jacksjottings | April 6, 2013 | Reply

  7. It seems whichever party you vote for the same agenda will be followed as they are being funded by and doing the bidding of the same ‘military industrial complex’, to quote Dwight D. Eisenhower. I really fear for our future.

    Comment by Danny Breslin | April 6, 2013 | Reply

  8. As you may well know I too was recently nominated for a ‘punch-in-the-face-award’ recently by a friend which I mentioned in a post ‘Coffee at 1?’ take a look it might make you laugh and you may well agree 🙂
    There are many people on T.V. that I would like to nominate, and yes David Cameron is one of them because he is an eejit! That’s my reason without going into too much depth, I might pop a blood vessel!

    Comment by Ishaiya | May 1, 2013 | Reply

    • I had a look for that post on your blog but couldn’t find it. Could you do me a favour and give me a link to it so I can have a read? Cameron is well deserving of a good hiding but so is the ventriloquist’s dummy who sits on his knee, the sell out Nick Clegg.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | May 1, 2013 | Reply

      • Sorry yes I realised after I pressed ‘reply’ that I hadn’t actually linked it! Duh! Yes Nick Clegg too should be up there. It contorts my stomach to even think of those two being in charge! The post in question is on my other blog, again realising that you may not be familiar with it only after, I’m having a bit of a divvy day! So here’s the link http://wp.me/p3khXh-4v 🙂

        Comment by Ishaiya | May 1, 2013

  9. […] Breslin has a bit to say on his blog.  I found his thoughts on this post to hit home with me.  Is there someone you would love to give a swift kick to, or in […]

    Pingback by Time for Friday Favorites | Living Simply Free | May 10, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

