Danny Breslin

How it is…

The Tortured Artist

It seems that a great deal of writers, poets, painters, musicians, actors etc. like to give the impression that they are somehow tortured souls, martyrs to their art. Trust me, these bums know nothing of torture for the sake of creativity!

I’m sitting here desperately tapping like…erm…someone who taps, trying to finish my book, Me & Gus on the Roof of the World, which I have promised you I’d get done but so far am yet to fulfil that promise, while writhing in agony and at the same time desperate for the comfort of sleep that is denied me these past few nights.

Yes my friends, I am a martyr to my art, I am a tortured soul!

Let me tell you this tale of woe: Mrs B was making herself useful and painting the skirting boards before my mate comes around to lay the new flooring. My eldest dog Jess decided that what would help the drying process would be if she lay down against it. Or maybe she fancied a go faster stripe? I scrubbed her vigorously before the paint dried, too vigorously as it turned out, and within the hour I could hardly walk for the pain in my back, in fact I could hardly breathe with it.

Avoiding visiting the doctors is a hobby I suppose you would call it so I’ve been making do with mild painkillers which are useless for anything more than a bit of a headache, deep heat gel and heat patches which make me go nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn as I tear them off.

On Monday night my team not only won  (for once) they trounced the opposition 6-1. When the first goal went in my fist shot into the air and I  attempted to cheer; ravaged by the pain that tore me in half and embarrassed by the pathetic whimper that I produced I was unable to celebrate the next five goals.

The dogs know that their dad is injured, they have a sense for that sort of thing. I’d like to say that they have been nuzzling up to me to tell me it’s going to be ok, but no; they have instead been playing up like you wouldn’t believe and running around like maniacs, confident that I am in no fit state to go after them, slipper in hand.

Dogs, it seems, have no concept of future consequences for their present actions.

May 1, 2013 - Posted by | Me & Gus on the Roof of the World

17 Comments »

  1. Hope you get better soon, Danny, and we’re still waiting for the famous book!

    Comment by Yaz | May 1, 2013 | Reply

  2. Danny, Danny, what can I say? My heart goes out to you… first a strained back, and then not being able to go after the BAD dogs with a slipper. Insult heaped upon injury! But take heart, buddy! The back will fix itself… just give it time and desist from backing winning teams until then.
    Hot water bottles work for me when my back decides to turn it back upon me!

    Get well soonest… or keep us updated. Will have new ideas then. Cheers!

    Comment by mj | May 1, 2013 | Reply

    • Update – just went to the toilet and there’s blood in my pee….oops No wonder my temperature has been up too, looks like a kidney infection, off to the doctors afterall – doh!

      Comment by Danny Breslin | May 1, 2013 | Reply

  3. Your keyboard taps? I’m jealous… Mine thumps

    Comment by john zande | May 1, 2013 | Reply

  4. Poor Danny, poor poor Danny, making me laugh when he’s in so much pain 🙂
    Hope you get better soon.
    And get that damn book written!

    Comment by Alison | May 1, 2013 | Reply

    • How can you laugh at my misery? Have you no heart?

      Comment by Danny Breslin | May 8, 2013 | Reply

  5. Sorry Danny, hope you’re much better. Now, tortured soul or not, hurry up and finish that book! 😉

    Comment by Seyi sandra | May 2, 2013 | Reply

  6. “Dogs, it seems, have no concept of future consequences for their present actions.”

    We do – but sometimes it’s worth it, woof!

    I hope you soon feel better.

    Comment by Clowie | May 2, 2013 | Reply

  7. It’s true, they don’t! But we love them for that too. Maybe they’re trying to heal you in their own way!
    I hope you’ll wake up in the morning and it’ll be gone – history!!!
    🙂

    Comment by marina kanavaki | May 2, 2013 | Reply

    • Sweet of you but no chance. I’ve got to go for a CT scan on my kidney.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | May 8, 2013 | Reply

      • l sincerely hope that the kidney is just messing with you and that the scan will come out clear! Sometimes our parts send out messages hoping we’ll hear and treat them belter…

        Comment by marina kanavaki | May 8, 2013

  8. Hope you are feeling better by now….. yes, those dogs know how to take advantage dont they? Could ship you Ginger for the duration.. hehehe or as she would say muwahahahaahah

    Comment by colliesofthemeadow | June 1, 2013 | Reply

    • Ginger is a little diamond, she can come stay with me anytime.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | June 17, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

