Danny Breslin

How it is…

Too Quiet

“My days are long and empty without Danny Breslin,” I hear you lament. I can understand that, I can feel your pain and I cannot apologise enough. I have been far too quiet for far too long. Perhaps you were worried about me: did the pain in my kidney turn out to be something really, really bad? I’ve got a CT scan next week but don’t worry, my money’s on kidney stones.

Perhaps you thought questionable deeds had caught up with me and I was languishing in a prison cell – questionable deeds? How dare you! I’m as innocent as a little lamb. Anyway, no copper’s gonna take me alive!

Perhaps you thought I’d found new friends and had no time for you anymore? That’ll never happen, I love you all just as much as the first day you clicked ‘follow’.

“So where have you been Breslin you tosser?”

I’ve been nowhere. I’ve been sat here all along, tapping furiously, pounding the keyboard until it squeaked for mercy, trying to get this book finished. I want to get it done and published because I’ve already started planning another about a journey through South Africa the year before the events that you will read about in Me & Gus on the Roof of the World. As this is my first book I didn’t really appreciate the amount of work that goes into such an undertaking, and the amount of distractions that can stop you from getting any work done. I just hope you enjoy it when it comes out in a few weeks, I’ll be giving it away for free to you lot anyway.

Oh and by the way….watch who you’re calling a tosser!

May 20, 2013 - Posted by | Writing Your First Book | , , , , , , , , , , ,

20 Comments »

  1. Glad to hear about your kidneys! Stones are …fixable!
    First book [or first of anything importand] is actually the hardest and most of the times followed by various inexplicable* setbacks. It’s as if someone’s testing us to see how serious we are about it! I’ve also noticed that this happens on projects which ARE worthwhile, so I am really looking forward to your finished book!
    Happy Monday and week, Danny! [and a kiss to Bones]
    🙂

    * by “inexplicable” I mean Twilight zone stuff!

    Comment by marina kanavaki | May 20, 2013 | Reply

    • I certainly hope it gets easier Marina. Sorry mate but I wouldn’t kiss Bones even if he was dipped in chocolate and I was borrowing someone else’s lips, the filthy little mutt! Anyway Bones thinks he’s a tough dog so he doesn’t go in for soppy stuff.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | May 20, 2013 | Reply

  2. You’ve been missed Danny! Good luck with your book.

    Comment by Judith Willems | May 20, 2013 | Reply

  3. I did wonder why you were so quiet! I’m looking forward to the book.

    Comment by Clowie | May 20, 2013 | Reply

  4. Your book sounds fascinating. Hope you finish it soon. You are an adventurous soul!

    Comment by Patricia Tilton | May 20, 2013 | Reply

  5. Good luck on finishing that book and sure do hope the kidney pain is nothing serious. Paulette

    Comment by The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap | May 20, 2013 | Reply

  6. I’ve missed you Danny, beat that stone out of your kidney and let me read your book, love to the wifey!! 🙂

    Comment by Seyi sandra | May 20, 2013 | Reply

    • Missed you too mate. “Beat that stone out of your kidney…” hmm glad you’re not my doctor!

      Comment by Danny Breslin | May 21, 2013 | Reply

  7. Missed you! Good luck on the book and the kidneys…cheers…

    Comment by flyingbubbles | May 21, 2013 | Reply

    • Cheers Bubbles, everything will be okay.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | May 21, 2013 | Reply

  8. Looking forward to more about the book!
    Wishing you all the best with the kidney, too! 🙂

    Comment by Denise Hisey | May 21, 2013 | Reply

    • Very soon Denise. Don’t worry about the kidney, I’ve got another one.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | May 21, 2013 | Reply

  9. LOL! I love you Danny Breslin! Your writing is ALWAYS able to put a smile on my face! Cant wait for the rooftop book lol!

    Comment by Beauty of Freedom | May 29, 2013 | Reply

    • Now isn’t that a coincidence? I love you too !!!!!

      Comment by Danny Breslin | May 30, 2013 | Reply

  10. Ouch! Stones are no fun… just means you are not drinking enough pints!!!! Now, I had my money on your questionable deeds had caught up with you… hehehe 🙂 Keep working on the book.. I love reading when I can.. with this darn job retraining my time is a bit short but I visit when I can. 🙂

    Comment by colliesofthemeadow | June 1, 2013 | Reply

    • When my questionable deeds catch up with me the devil had better watch out.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | June 17, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

