Danny Breslin

How it is…

I Don’t Get It…

Right, my next nomination for a Punch in the Face is a personal one, it is a bloke I met once many years ago in Wales. He was a friend’s dad, and the first time I was in their house we were chatting away and getting on quite well. Then he asked me my last name, I told him and things changed so quickly I still can’t believe it. “Scottish?” He asked.

“No, my dad’s Irish.”

“Catholic?”

“Erm…well yeah, he is.”

He turned his back on me and said to my friend: “Don’t ever bring this young man into this house again.” With that he strode out of the room and that was the last I saw of him. I couldn’t even reply because my jaw was hanging slack. What just happened?

The shock was replaced by a deep hurt, why was I being judged like this? I spoke to my dad and told him what happened. “How did it make you feel?” He asked.

“I felt a bit sick afterwards, I wish I’d twatted him.”

“Son, you can’t change what’s in a man’s heart by changing the shape of his face.” Maybe not but it would have made me feel better.

So there you have it, a punch in the face owed to Mr Evans of Flintshire.

Now I wouldn’t consider myself a stupid person but there is a lot I don’t understand in this world, things that seem so ridiculous and alien to me that the reasoning behind them won’t penetrate this thick skull, you might as well be explaining theoretical physics to a chimp. So give me a hand here?

I’m not pretending to be politically correct because you, my friends, know that I’m not; I like to think that I hate everybody equally…lol. All I’m asking is how can someone be so twisted by prejudice that they would act in such a way? What is it with racism? How can you just dismiss a whole race of people and say you hate them because they are a different colour or religion or come from a different part of the world? Whatever happened to the idea that we are individuals? Now despising those supporting a different footie team – that I can understand.

These people justify their prejudice with sweeping and blatantly untrue statements about the imagined shared characteristics of the “other”. Lies that are passed down from their parents like heirlooms or passed around by their peers like a bag of sweets.

I don’t get it. I’ve told people that coming out with unfounded generalisations makes them look ignorant. “Yeah but you know what they’re like…” (Add the community of your choice.)

Please, will someone kindly explain it to me because I just don’t get it…

May 21, 2013 - Posted by | A Punch in the Face | , , , , ,

14 Comments »

  1. Nothing to explain. This is the simple effect of switching one’s brain off… a trick so easily performed with religion.

    Comment by john zande | May 21, 2013 | Reply

  2. Nothing to explain. Hatred is illogical. None so blind… Have a good day, friend. And, thanks for the thought provoking important post. Paulette

    Comment by The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap | May 21, 2013 | Reply

  3. Egos (and we all have one,unless we’re enlightened of course) are fragile things, because they are fabricated from nothing. In order to sustain itself an ego needs an opponent to be ‘better than’ so it can keep proving to itself that it actually exists, and that it is ‘good enough’. It needs to be ‘good enough’ because deep down, unconsciously it actually knows that it is just a fabrication from nothing. If it is better than the other guy maybe then it is ‘good enough’. Of course it’s a never ending quest to be ‘good enough’ because it’s all based on a lie. The bigger and more rigid the positions and judgments of the ego the more fragile it is. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it 🙂

    Comment by Alison | May 21, 2013 | Reply

  4. I don’t understand it either.

    Comment by Clowie | May 24, 2013 | Reply

  5. Good question, and great post.
    Sadly, this man probably learned the racism/hatred from his own parents -and on it goes. People like that must not be very secure with who they are so have to put others down that are different from them.

    Comment by Denise Hisey | May 25, 2013 | Reply

  6. I love te way you write..which has led me to nominate you for Most Versatile Blogger. Please feel free to skip the stuff the “rules” say you should do. I just think lots of people should read your blog, ’cause you’re kind of amazing. xoxo -k.

    Comment by octavia02 | May 27, 2013 | Reply

  7. Wish I could explain it, but I don’t get it either! I’ll just chalk it up to ignorance and misinformation, coupled with a refusal to learn and be tolerant of other people. Just craziness….I will say though, your father gave you excellent advice. I may have to share that quote on my facebook!

    Comment by Beauty of Freedom | May 29, 2013 | Reply

  8. Great post Danny! Some ppl will fight the reformation forever I guess….. The funny thing about that is that ALL churches can trace back to the Catholic church….. so when ppl act like that I pretty much have my answer to their living the faith. My favorite exclamation is “they arent christians, they are Catholics!” Ahem… um…. yeah… sigh…. where did your church come from friend is my answer! The reformation is over…. get over it! Who is on that crucifix in a Catholic Church? Thats right.. Jesus. I could go on but I wont… by the way I was Catholic and I experienced this myself also. Such ignorance.. oh heck… let me punch him for ya! By the way… I had to laugh at your hating all ppl equally. I have told ppl for years I am a equall opportunity hater for I hate everyone equally.. heheheh As for being Irish…. I have a bit of Irish in my bloodlines too and used to wear a button saying Kiss me, I’m part Irish until this woman… er.. well it had a skirt on did… now butt ugly is where I do discriminate against and so… the button got trashed.. hehehehe

    Comment by colliesofthemeadow | June 1, 2013 | Reply

  9. Awful!

    Comment by cindy knoke | June 19, 2013 | Reply

  10. Awesome post – true quality.

    What happened? “religion” happened. So sorry you encountered it!

    Comment by WordsFallFromMyEyes | July 11, 2013 | Reply

    • If it had been about football I would have understood, now that’s something worth falling out over, but just because my dad was an Irish Catholic? It still has me confused…

      Comment by Danny Breslin | July 11, 2013 | Reply

  11. A lot of people are just total fuck-wits Danny, not really any more complicated than that.

    Comment by mariatothecore | August 29, 2013 | Reply

    • I suppose, it just doesn’t make any sense to me.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | August 30, 2013 | Reply

      • It doesn’t make any sense to me either that some people can be so purposely obtuse. But there you are I suppose.

        Comment by mariatothecore | August 30, 2013


Leave a Reply

