Danny Breslin

How it is…

A Stone Overweight

The title doesn’t mean you have to worry about me letting myself go, I still have the body of a Greek god, albeit possibly not one of the more popular or indeed chiselled of the Olympians. The stone I refer to in the title is the one that has been discovered nesting in my kidney.

I waited a patient, if not entirely comfortable two weeks for the results of my CT scan to reach the hands of my doctor who rang me to tell me the news: 8.2mm in diameter. Now that might not sound like a boulder but when it’s lodging rent free in your kidney it certainly feels like the one that chased Indiana Jones. This was a fortnight ago of course so it has probably grown since then. At least my mind can rest easy in the knowledge that it isn’t something else more threatening.

So what now?

From what I’ve read on the internet (always a mistake), none of the treatments are entirely painless but it should be small enough to forego surgery. They might stick something up the pipe to get at it but trust me, that ain’t happening!!! They’ll probably shoot ultrasound at it to smash it and it’ll come out in my water.

Oh for the good old days when you’d get one of the lads to smack it with a bat until it broke up – natural medicine.

I told my mate Gus and he thought it might be a good idea to put an apple on my wife’s head and sell tickets billing myself as “The Human Peashooter”. Hmm…tempting…

June 17, 2013 - Posted by | Stuff and Nonsense | , , , ,

12 Comments »

  1. I agree about the Internet adding to your worries in medical issues.
    Well, I wish you all the best in getting rid of it soonest and safest way possible… and no, I don;t like the thought of the apple on the wife’s head… 🙂

    Comment by mj | June 17, 2013 | Reply

    • I didn’t mention it to her but I’m sure she wouldn’t be too keen – us boys don’t always aim straight.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | June 17, 2013 | Reply

      • Yup… that I can testify to – one hubby and one son – lot of experience there.
        take care!

        Comment by mj | June 17, 2013

  2. Oh, my, Danny! From the size of it, it sounds more like a rock!!!
    However I think that ultrasound shooting will eliminate it in no time and you’ll be the last one laughing as you’ll watch it go down the drain shuttered!!! All the best, Danny!
    🙂

    Comment by marina kanavaki | June 17, 2013 | Reply

    • Your first line…we are still talking about my kidney stone…?

      Comment by Danny Breslin | June 17, 2013 | Reply

  3. Yell at it…. that might shatter its nerve and crumble.

    Comment by john zande | June 17, 2013 | Reply

    • Trust me, I’ve been yelling at it alright.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | June 17, 2013 | Reply

      • Then trying sneaking up on it, you know, surprise it 🙂

        Comment by john zande | June 17, 2013

  4. Smacking it with a bat sounds painful! I don’t think I’d ask them to do that.
    I hope it’s sorted out soon.

    Comment by Clowie | June 17, 2013 | Reply

  5. Been there, done that~

    Comment by Gator Woman | June 19, 2013 | Reply

    • Yeah, stings a little bit doesn’t it?

      Comment by Danny Breslin | June 19, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

