Danny Breslin

How it is…

Told you I was ill

For very positive there is a negative, this is the way of the world, a constant that we cannot ignore. So I have got good news and therefore, it goes without saying, I also have bad news. Which do you want first?

“GOOD NEWS FIRST PLEASE!”

Okay here’s the good news seeing as you insist: I’ve just about finished my book Me & Gus on the Roof of the World. That’s right people, that bloody book that has taken me so long to get around to finishing is finally about ready to be published. I’ve just got to write a short epilogue which won’t take long and then do a bit of editing – very important! I know you won’t forgive bad grammar and spelling misteks (sic).

After that I have to sort out a cover design then upload to Amazon. Couple of weeks maybe? I’ll let you know when its on sale so you can all get a free copy – that’s cos I luv ya!!!!

“HURRAY!!!! HANG ON, BUT WHAT ABOUT THE BAD NEWS?”

Ah…. You know that bit of a pain I had in my kidney? Well the stone is sitting quite happily in the pipe between the kidney and the bladder which has made my kidney swollen. I saw the Urology consultant this morning – a right frosty bitch – and she said they’re going to have to remove it surgically before it buggers up my kidney altogether. Looks like I’m going into hospital folks.

Now then, let’s subdivide this bad news into good and bad too:

“RIGHT…WE’LL PLAY ALONG, WHAT’S THE SUBGOOD NEWS?

Hopefully, barring any complications, I should only be in overnight because it’s keyhole surgery with a laser to break it up.

“THAT IS GOOD, AND THE SUBBAD NEWS?”

The hole for this particular key is going to be the…erm…how do I put this delicately? It’s the snake’s one good eye. (Everyone shuddered). I would prefer it remained exit only but I have a feeling after this it will be burning like the eye of Sauron.

I’m just glad they’re putting me to sleep so I don’t have to witness this indignity, this infringement on the rights of the wrinkly fella. I hope he doesn’t blame me, I won’t be able to look him in the eye again.

 

 

July 1, 2013 - Posted by | Me & Gus on the Roof of the World, Stuff and Nonsense, Writing Your First Book | , , , , , , , ,

34 Comments »

  1. Good luck and feel better!!

    Comment by mimijk | July 1, 2013 | Reply

  2. . this doesnt sound like fun… *shudders* Now this bit about looking it in the eye…. er… um… on second thought we don’t want to know… LOL….
    In mirth,
    the collies and chuck

    Comment by colliesofthemeadow | July 1, 2013 | Reply

    • I don’t know why I’m worried about him, he’s got me in enough trouble over the years!

      Comment by Danny Breslin | July 2, 2013 | Reply

  3. Well done on the book! It’s not an easy task. May it flood your coffers!

    Comment by john zande | July 1, 2013 | Reply

    • I wrote it for the sake of the art…erm…nah, it’s the money.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | July 2, 2013 | Reply

  4. Ohhhh, the way I see it there are only good news!
    You are in fact [one way or another] getting many things out of your system!
    So get the bubbly ready!
    As for the method of that second one, well you can always convince the doctors to lie to you! hey, as long as it’s out [and you’re asleep], who cares?!!!
    🙂

    Comment by marina kanavaki | July 1, 2013 | Reply

    • I’m sure you’re right. I suppose I’m just worrying about nothing. I’m regretting the tattoo down there though.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | July 2, 2013 | Reply

  5. Congrats on the book. BTW, you definitely want that stone out of you before it starts to try to move. My husband didn’t have the good fortune to know he had one until it tried to pass. Had the laser surgery and, well, the rest wasn’t pleasant, but they gave him good drugs. Best of luck to you. It’s not going to be easy.

    Comment by jmlindy422 | July 1, 2013 | Reply

    • Couldn’t you just lie and say it will be easy?

      Comment by Danny Breslin | July 2, 2013 | Reply

      • Oh, but then you would curse me when it hurts. Actually, it will be easy. It’s very easy to lie around being in pain. It’s harder to walk around being in pain. I recommend the drugs and the lying around. And a really nice wife, like me, to take care of you. Not that I will take care of you. That’s someone else’s job. BTW, if you’re not married, now might be a good time. Hope your experience is as painfree and easy as possible.

        Comment by jmlindy422 | July 2, 2013

  6. Great on the book. Relief on getting the kidney handled. Sending you good healing thoughts. Paulette

    Comment by The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap | July 1, 2013 | Reply

  7. Wonderful good news. I clicked on the like for that. As for the bad news, I wish you well, and the best outcome possible (no pun intended yuk yuk).

    Comment by Alison | July 1, 2013 | Reply

    • Thanks Alison, it was quite a decent pun.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | July 2, 2013 | Reply

  8. Okay, remember when you shuddered reading my post, My Snip Snip Wasn’t Fun Fun? Well, here’s back at ya. Lordy I hope the pieces are small enough to pass through the eye of the snake with the least pain possible.

    Comment by richardmax22 | July 1, 2013 | Reply

    • You and me both mate. Reminds me of that old horror film title: “And now the screaming starts.”

      Comment by Danny Breslin | July 2, 2013 | Reply

  9. Hi Danny,

    Congrats for this great achievement of finishing your book. Thanks also for your kind offer for a free copy, I appreciate!

    As you look back to that period when you were struggling to complete the book, what take-away do you see there? How could you use that to now move forward?

    Shakti

    Comment by Shakti Ghosal | July 2, 2013 | Reply

    • Cheers for that, and you’re very welcome. As I see it, I really need to devote more time to my next book, this one has taken me so long to write. If it is successful then I will put other things aside to make way for my career.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | July 2, 2013 | Reply

  10. Ouch!!! I actually winced reading that. Good luck!!! And congratulations on your book! That’s quite something! 🙂

    Comment by gina4star | July 2, 2013 | Reply

    • Reserve judgement until you’ve read it mate, you might hate it. I’m getting kind of nervous the nearer it gets to publishing, what if people really don’t like it?

      Comment by Danny Breslin | July 5, 2013 | Reply

      • 🙂 I think that’s a natural reaction!

        Comment by gina4star | July 8, 2013

      • I suppose you’re right, if I cross my fingers and close my eyes tight….? Seriously though I really hope you enjoy reading it, it made me laugh as I was writing it anyway.

        Comment by Danny Breslin | July 8, 2013

  11. I felt awful giggling through the humour of the subgood and subbad news… I’m sure it’ll be all over before you know it. Huge deal before it happens, then you wonder how fast time flies. That is maybe “more true” than the good/bad balance thing…
    Will be looking out for your book!
    All the best, A

    Comment by Alyx | July 2, 2013 | Reply

    • You giggled? What kind of evil monster are you? Nah mate it’s cool, soon be over. I hope you enjoy the book.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | July 5, 2013 | Reply

  12. I love how you can make everything sound like fun, I almost want to have a kidney operation too now……nevertheless: take care Danny!!!

    Comment by Judith Willems | July 5, 2013 | Reply

    • Well in this case you can have mine for me.
      By the way, I haven’t been able to eat a banana since your tutorial video !!!

      Comment by Danny Breslin | July 8, 2013 | Reply

  13. Feel better mate! Good news about the book…

    Comment by flyingbubbles | July 9, 2013 | Reply

    • Thanks Bubbles. Won’t be long now, probably have the book on kindle next week sometime. I’ll let you know anyway. Bloody thrashing for the Wallabies off the Lions, did you enjoy watching that?

      Comment by Danny Breslin | July 9, 2013 | Reply

      • Yes. My hubby enjoyed it more. I’m preoccupied with the Ashes…

        Comment by flyingbubbles | July 10, 2013

  14. Awwww! Congrats on the book thingy but I’m shuddering at the prospect of the keyhole surgery. All the same don’t worry, you’ll be as right as rain in a matter of days! (is that the right phrase?) Do take care Danny!
    Blessings. 🙂

    Comment by Seyi sandra | July 9, 2013 | Reply

  15. Wow how exciting. You must be so proud. I can not wait until the day I can say, that my book is about to be published. I am nearly at editing stage. Well done and Congratulations. Good luck with your surgery, and keep going. Never give up. Just a little mountain to climb, that is all.

    Comment by minadora | July 18, 2013 | Reply

    • A little mountain but a big stone. Let me know when your book is done.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | July 30, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

