Danny Breslin

How it is…

Who’d be a Referee?

Even if you’re not into sport this one will shock you – read on…

I love my football, it’s a passion; one that makes me sing and dance, one that makes me weep. My club means the world to me yet there have been times I’ve hated my team and vowed never to go see them again…until the following Saturday. It is the same for millions around the world. It brings out the best and the worst.

The passion provoked by this sport is often directed at the man in the middle, the lonely figure of the referee who must love the game more than any of us. Why else would you run about a field getting abuse hurled at you from four directions at once? I have to hold my hands up and admit there have been instances when I have been guilty of this. I’ve questioned the referee’s judgement, his eyesight, his qualifications, even the legitimacy of his birth; at times they’ve bloody well deserved it too: you know who I’m talking about Phil Dowd – letting Vidic off when he clearly should have been red-carded in the FA cup semi you tosser (I’m not bitter.)

There are times when ref bashing goes just that little bit too far though:

In a recent amateur match in Brazil, the ref got into an altercation with a player which became physical. The referee produced a knife and stabbed the player who later died on the way to hospital. At this point fans ran onto the pitch and stoned the ref to death before beheading him, quartering him and impaling his severed head on a stake in the middle of the pitch!

Seriously, I’m not making it up: http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2013/jul/07/brazilian-referee-decapitated-stabs-player

 

July 8, 2013 - Posted by | Stuff and Nonsense | , , , , ,

17 Comments »

  1. OMG I can’t believe that happened ! * shakes head*

    Comment by renxkyoko | July 8, 2013 | Reply

    • I had to read it twice to make sure, crazy people.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | July 8, 2013 | Reply

      • I don’t know but it sounds barbaric. I like soccer, but I cannot imagine this sport can drive out the primeval nature of man…. American football, yes, but soccer is not even a contact sport.

        Comment by renxkyoko | July 8, 2013

  2. The contact takes place between rival supporters.
    As for American football, hmm. I like the Pittsburgh Steelers, for no other reason than they won the first match I ever saw as a child, but I cannot watch a live game on TV because it is soooo boring. I have to record it and fast forward through all the breaks in play. I can watch a three hour game in twenty minutes because basically that’s all the action you get.
    My advice? For a contact sport you should watch Rugby Union, at least they’re tough enough to go without armour!

    Comment by Danny Breslin | July 8, 2013 | Reply

  3. This happened way up in the north… and way up in the north people are truly odd.

    Comment by john zande | July 8, 2013 | Reply

    • It’s funny but isn’t that true for so many countries? Our northerners are very strange too.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | July 8, 2013 | Reply

      • Same in Australia, too. You get up to Darwin and you might as well have entered a Hunter S. Thompson dream.

        Comment by john zande | July 8, 2013

  4. All of these atrocities were done because of A GAME! A CHILD’S GAME! God have mercy on our souls.

    Comment by richardmax22 | July 8, 2013 | Reply

  5. Arrrgggg!!! 😦

    Comment by Seyi sandra | July 9, 2013 | Reply

  6. Oh no! This is ridiculous …

    Comment by flyingbubbles | July 10, 2013 | Reply

  7. People take sports waaaaaaay too far.

    Comment by Jessica | July 10, 2013 | Reply

    • I know, but if it wasn’t sport it would be religion or politics or race or someone looking at them in a funny way or whatever… Some folk just ain’t wired up right.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | July 11, 2013 | Reply

  8. When I saw that article title online I thought “oh, must be the fans from my team’s biggest rivals”….. then I clicked on it and read it and found out it was real….. I understand getting upset and letting loose with some verbal abuse, although one even shouldn’t do that in reality, but this is way over the top. All this over a sport that should in its best bring fun, joy, cheers or at the worst sadness over a loss. These people I would call animals but I don’t think animals would act this way……
    the collies and chuck

    Comment by colliesofthemeadow | July 12, 2013 | Reply

    • 100% in agreement with you there Chuck – and I never thought I’d say that to someone who supports Manchester United!

      Comment by Danny Breslin | July 12, 2013 | Reply

      • Go Reds!!! 🙂 hehehe Can’t wait for Footy to start back up again…. what fun it will be! By the way we just posted about your book on the blog! Best wishes for a million sales on it for what I have read it is going to be one excellent read! 🙂

        Comment by colliesofthemeadow | July 12, 2013


Leave a Reply

