Danny Breslin

How it is…

Fly Fishing-Rising To The Challenge

I love his stories but this is my favourite so far. Read it, wet yourself laughing and then bow down and worship at Richard’s feet. This is simply hilarious.

richardmax22

A couple of years ago I was invited on a fishing trip. Not just any old run-of-the-mill fishing trip. This was a trip to a remote lake in Canada. And of all people to invite me, it was the world known fly fisherman, Frank Blitzki. Well, maybe not world known, but at least a name recognized among hackle packers in a three county radius of my town. Little did I know how insensitive this man could be.

He was looking for someone who could write an article about the fishing lodge in which he was part owner. As the newspaper ad worded it, “someone who is an experienced fly fisherman and eloquent with the written word.” Though I admit now I may have stretched my qualifications some, his enticing words, “free week of lodging and fishing for the chosen candidate.” was more than I could resist.

Though no expert, I theorized I had…

View original post 2,655 more words

July 14, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Thank you for the kind words. Rising To The Challenge was also one of my favorites that was published in The Fly Fisherman magazine many years ago. My mistake was it was one of my first posts when I had no followers on my blog, and was lost behind all of the others posts. Unfortunately, I posted most of my favorite past-published articles back then. So, like this one, from time to time I think I’ll re-post some of my past unread favorites.

    Comment by richardmax22 | July 14, 2013 | Reply

    • Absolutely you should. Maybe you ought to collate your favourites into a book too?

      Comment by Danny Breslin | July 15, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

