Danny Breslin

How it is…

Know anything about Facebook?

I’m asking for help and ideas. Can you give me a few tips about building an audience on FB?

When I first released my book Me & Gus on the Roof of the World it was being downloaded at a furious rate, probably because it was free. Now it has returned to full price it has slowed down considerably, a trickle is perhaps the best word to describe it.

In order to boost sales I want to boost my audience, therefore I have gone over to the dark side and joined Facebook. It should be safe enough as long as I share the bare bloody minimum about myself. You can find me here: https://www.facebook.com/danny.breslin.96 or click on the link in the sidebar —->

So I got that far but now I’m wondering what the best way is to build up my friends list. I’m sure a lot of you have been doing this sort of thing longer than me and know your way around social media; some of you are published authors who have built a platform already – so please share what you know. How do I build my own little tribe?

Hit the comment button below and share your knowledge, any little snippet will help.

Cheers!

 

August 1, 2013 - Posted by | Writing Your First Book | , , , , , , , ,

17 Comments »

  1. Can’t help you there, sorry… Although on FB i hardly venture there.

    Comment by john zande | August 1, 2013 | Reply

    • It’s a little bit scary for anyone who isn’t under 16 isn’t it?

      Comment by Danny Breslin | August 1, 2013 | Reply

      • I’m a passive user… do nothing on my end, but do enjoy reading all the secular groups posts.

        Comment by john zande | August 1, 2013

  2. I wish I could help… but don’t know enough about it… all I know is that friends have found me on the FB and asked that I like their page,, I keep going back to see what is happening on their page and it seems to grow in “Likes”…
    When I finish your book I will do a blog about it and attach it to FB telling my few 100 friends where to find you… that’s the best I can do…wish I could do more….

    Comment by bulldog | August 1, 2013 | Reply

    • That’s brilliant though, thanks mate.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | August 1, 2013 | Reply

  3. Just a note to wish you all the best, Danny. Unfortunately, I can’t help you with FB … I don’t use it.
    Bones would know more than me!
    Happy August. 🙂

    Comment by marina kanavaki | August 1, 2013 | Reply

    • And happy August to you Marina. I’m sure Bones knows more than me about many things but he isn’t letting on. He’s lost all interest in blogging these days too, I think he’s at a funny age.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | August 1, 2013 | Reply

    • Seems like I’ve got some reading to do, Cheers

      Comment by Danny Breslin | August 2, 2013 | Reply

  4. Here’s the way I made some Facebook friends. Just follow the steps, get busy until you have about 2000!!!! I got fed up at the 200 mark.

    http://www.wikihow.com/Make-Friends-on-Facebook

    Comment by Yaz | August 1, 2013 | Reply

    • Thanks Yaz, I’ll have a look at that.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | August 1, 2013 | Reply

  5. I wish I knew! I’m trying to build my own audience… I’ve seen really well-known bloggers post posts with chances to win things, etc. but you have to “like” their facebook page to sign up… That seemed to work really well! Other than that, I’m clueless! But *I’ll* like your page! So that’s something!

    Comment by Jessica | August 2, 2013 | Reply

    • That means a lot to me, thanks Jessica.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | August 2, 2013 | Reply

  6. Good luck, Danny. Not sure if I can help. I write my blog and that’s about it. Apparently, zombies is a big thing nowadays and everyone’s looking for the next big thing. I just try to write the best possible post I can muster then see how it does. Sometimes I get FB likes because of it sometimes I get nothing. But I don’t let the numbers bother me. It’s the quality of follows, followers, likes that’s important to me. Keeping folks entertained is my #1 priority. And if I can makes 1 person laugh and that’s what they remember that day…I’ve done my job.

    Comment by Jack Flacco | August 2, 2013 | Reply

    • Absolutely, you know I’m a fan of your blog. Zombies have been giving me the creeps since I saw Romero’s Dawn of the Dead when I was a kid. First time I ever saw a chunk of flesh ripped off someone and it scared the bejaysus out of me.
      You keep tapping and I’ll keep reading. Cheers mate.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | August 3, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

