Danny Breslin

How it is…

Big News

I promised earlier in the week that I would have a couple of snippets of news for you. In fact it could very easily turn into another of those good news/bad news posts.

Let me give you the bad news first. That little rogue Bones (that’s him in the sidebar) of the once famous blog known as Bones Diary has decided that he has better things to do with his time that get chased around the house by his dad for using his computer. The fact that his dad – that’s me by the way – is using it all the time, and he barely gets chance to get his paws on it, is besides the point.

Bones has decided to call it a day and close down his blog for good.

Now despite his failings as an obedient family pet I have to admit some of the stuff he wrote wasn’t too bad. I don’t want it to go to waste so I’m asking you what you think. Should I create a Best of Bones’ Diary page on my blog with a few of his puppy posts on there or, like me, do you think “nah, he’s a little git, who wants to read that rubbish”? Perhaps I could turn it into an eBook and flog it; I could get a decent dog with the proceeds – only joking Marina, I know you love him.

Let me know what you think?

The good news is that I’ve started on my next book. This one is another true story about my travels and features a trip to South Africa to see my mate get married. It takes place about a year or so before the events that I told you about in Me & Gus on the Roof of the World.

I’ll probably do a more detailed outline for you in a few days, like the one I did for Roof of the World, but I promise there will be some more hilarious and hair raising moments to get your teeth into.

Up close and personal encounters with various wild animals, the missus getting attacked by a monkey, tickling a lion’s belly, and chasing a wolf as it headed for some tourists. There are also accounts of baring my behind to some farmers from the window of a train and a brief but savage fight between me and a Zulu warrior who was apparently still pissed off about Rorke’s Drift!

Right, I’m off. Just hit the comments button and let me know what I should do with Bones’ Diary. Cheers!

Bones

Bones

August 8, 2013 - Posted by | Writing Your First Book | , , , , , ,

22 Comments »

  1. Bones Bones, where are you?!!!!! 😥
    Understatement of the day: Let there be a Bones’ Diary!!!!
    Bet you didn’t expect that, did you?!
    🙂
    Glad to hear about your new book – Hoorah Hoorah!

    Comment by marina kanavaki | August 8, 2013 | Reply

    • I was actually a bit worried about your reaction because I know how much you love that mutt.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | August 9, 2013 | Reply

      • …as long as he gets to have his own guest diary in your blog, it’s ok! 🙂

        Comment by marina kanavaki | August 9, 2013

      • I might let him have the occasional bark.

        Comment by Danny Breslin | August 9, 2013

      • 🙂

        Comment by marina kanavaki | August 9, 2013

  2. Of course he should have his writings remembered! Published! BONES’ DIARY!!!

    Comment by mtlawleyshire | August 8, 2013 | Reply

  3. Of course! Give him a spot.

    Comment by john zande | August 8, 2013 | Reply

    • A spot? I’d give him a damn good thrashing if I could catch the little bugger!

      Comment by Danny Breslin | August 9, 2013 | Reply

  4. Yeah do the Bones diary, I wanna read! As for the new book… look at you go! Brilliant stuff, I wish I had your conviction to knuckle down with my own books, but honestly all this blogging takes up enough of my time as it is! lol
    Love ya Danny 🙂

    Comment by mariatothecore | August 8, 2013 | Reply

    • If you had four or five less blogs to write you might be able to find the time. That said, I do enjoy reading your blogs. Luv u 2 even though you are from daahn saarf.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | August 9, 2013 | Reply

      • Oi! Watchit!
        It’s because I need a lot of distraction to stop myself from punching somebody in the face (metaphorically speaking of course), so I keep my brain busy with big words, and pithy conversations with fellow bloggers 😉
        Thankfully though I will have a lot of time on my hands over the next week or so as I’m off on holiday, so I’ll be devoid of the usual distractions.

        Comment by mariatothecore | August 9, 2013

      • There’s a lot to be said in favour of punching certain people in the face. It can be very therapeutic. They have to deserve it though, I would hate to think of you going out on a random slug-fest with complete strangers in the street and then tell everyone that I recommended it.

        Comment by Danny Breslin | August 9, 2013

      • I don’t know could be interesting, not sure it would do our cred much good though, as much as the idea really does appeal to me at times. It makes me laugh just thinking about it! I know twisted… but that’s me 🙂

        Comment by mariatothecore | August 9, 2013

  5. I’m not generally a fan of stories written from the point of view of animals, and have never read any of Bones Diary. Having said that, knowing your writing, I think you should turn it into an ebook.

    Comment by Alison | August 8, 2013 | Reply

  6. Keep the material for an ebook. Sometimes the good stuff needs a life of its own.Short stories perhaps,

    Comment by Yaz | August 8, 2013 | Reply

  7. The Bones diary sounds fun to read, Danny!

    Comment by Amy | August 9, 2013 | Reply

    • Maybe you’re right. It would be a shame to waste it.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | August 9, 2013 | Reply

  8. E book for sure:) good luck with book no 2

    Comment by flyingbubbles | August 12, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

