Danny Breslin

How it is…

Sunny days in Dublin

I caught up with an old friend who used to live in Dublin on Facebook today, I used to go there to visit relatives. Bunking off school and travelling with my uncle who was a truck driver, a job which brought him to England a few times a year. Getting suspended from school but my parents not finding out because I skipped off to Ireland – but not before intercepting the letter from the headmaster.

My cousin knew these lads in Ballymun and introduced me to them. That was it, I was taken in, made a member of the gang and every spare moment was spent with them. It didn’t matter to them that I was different, that I spoke differently. I was one of them.

Kicking a ball against a wall, hanging out in Belclare park on the swings, lazing in the sun on a grassy bank. The local disco which was one of the roughest places I’ve ever been to, you could guarantee at least one fight would break out, usually more. Long summer days with my friends.

Then today I learned that two of them have died in the last few years. It took the wind clean out of me. I haven’t seen them in thirty years, so why does it hurt so much? It hurts because in my mind’s eye they’re still the scruffy young urchins who took me in, who made me their friend. They never got any older and they’re still waiting for me with a football, always ready for a kickabout.

I’m not religious, all that stuff goes over my head, but wherever they are now I hope the sun is still shining.

August 15, 2013 - Posted by | Travel | , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Now, look what you did… I’m feeling bad too! It is sad to lose friends – even if they were friends for a summer. I also hope wherever they are, the Irish sun is upon them.
    Take care!

    Comment by mj | August 15, 2013 | Reply

  2. I’m very sorry to hear that, Danny… Treasure their memories and I think the sun will keep shinning for them.

    Comment by marina kanavaki | August 15, 2013 | Reply

  3. Good times x.

    Comment by shell | August 16, 2013 | Reply

  4. Wow! Its hard to find out those we care so much are gone…. I know how you feel. The years catch up to us and we dont realize it….. I join you in wishing that where they are it is bright and sunny and they are bouncing a football around! Perhaps tomorrow as the season opens you can take a moment before the games to toast them and give them a moment of silence…..

    Comment by colliesofthemeadow | August 17, 2013 | Reply

  5. I am so sorry for your loss. Sadly, as we get older these happenings become more and more a part of our lives. I know exactly how you feel about the loss of someone you haven’t seen in years. I had a friend I fished with continually. I couldn’t begin to tell you how many hours we spent together on the water. Then he moved to Florida, which is about as far away from Washington State as one can get and still be in the continental U.S. Though he would call me about once a month, I had not seen him in years. And yet when I was told of his passing it hit me in the gut like a sledgehammer. To this day I still terribly miss his monthly phone calls.

    Comment by richardmax22 | August 17, 2013 | Reply

  6. Sad indeed Danny – especially because we feel like those we know and love will just be there forever. Shocking when it turns out to be untrue. Good post.

    Comment by Tina Schell | August 24, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

