Danny Breslin

How it is…

Feeling appreciated

This is going to sound a bit corny, no scratch that – a lot corny. It’s as corny as somewhere with an abundance of corn – Nebraska or somewhere like that. I’m not apologising though.

Courtesy pickthebrain.com

Courtesy pickthebrain.com

Some writers might ply their trade for no other reason than they want to be rich beyond the dreams of avarice. Some may write to make themselves famous, maybe get a street named after them or something.

My motivation is a little bit simpler. If what I have written can make one single person’s day that tiny bit brighter then I have won. If I can make somebody giggle, chuckle chortle, guffaw or just plain laugh out loud then the time I spent writing has been worth it. If what I have written can put a smile on a stranger’s face…

I told you it was going to be corny didn’t I?

I was sent a link to another author’s hubpage, Christopher Antony Meade, I blogged about him the other day. Have a look at what he wrote about me and then you will have some idea why I’m such a happy little fella today:

http://christopheranton.hubpages.com/hub/Introducing-a-new-and-very-talented-writer-and-his-first-brilliant-book

Now, my friends, can you do me a favour? Hit the comments button and let me know if you’ve read my book Me & Gus on the Roof of the World yet and, if you have, tell me if it made you smile.

If it made your day, then you have made mine.

August 30, 2013 - Posted by | Writing Your First Book | , , , , , , ,

23 Comments »

  1. That was a great review, Danny. I still haven’t downloaded it yet because of the Amazon fiasco. I up-graded Expatshield (the VPN thingy) and now Amazon can’t tell where I am. I’ll download it ASAP.

    Comment by Yaz | August 30, 2013 | Reply

    • If you can’t then let me know and we’ll sort something else out.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | September 2, 2013 | Reply

  2. Excellent stuff! And I agree with every word Christopher says. YES! Danny is a damn good writer. YES! His book is extremely readable! And yes! he is a super gentleman (…who is also a good writer… 🙂

    Take care Danny! Enjoy the weekend with the warm happy feel!

    Comment by mj | August 30, 2013 | Reply

    • Thanks, best wishes to you too. That’s very kind of you but gentleman? Yeah, I suppose…(blushing)

      Comment by Danny Breslin | September 2, 2013 | Reply

  3. You are truly a noble man, Danny. If only others can gain a smidgen of what you posses, we’d have fun and exciting books to read!

    Comment by Jack Flacco | August 30, 2013 | Reply

  4. Ahhh so sweet – nice to feel appreciated:) Happy Weekend!

    Comment by cravesadventure | August 30, 2013 | Reply

  5. So I am going to borrow Christopher’s own words:
    “an all-round good guy, who has written an all-round great book.”
    and I’m glad to know you! 🙂

    Comment by marina kanavaki | August 30, 2013 | Reply

    • BTW I’m sure Bones is going to have something to say about that cat photo!!! 😉

      Comment by marina kanavaki | August 30, 2013 | Reply

      • He’s not happy about it to be honest.

        Comment by Danny Breslin | September 2, 2013

    • Well that goes both ways, it’s a privilege for me to know you. Big hugs!

      Comment by Danny Breslin | September 2, 2013 | Reply

  6. Congratulations. Not only for the critical acclaim given you, but also for knowing the true meaning of the joy of simply putting words to paper. It makes your words of praise for some of my past posts all the more precious.

    Comment by richardmax22 | August 30, 2013 | Reply

    • It’s a crappy world Richard and ain’t that the truth? That’s why the little moments of pleasure that we can scrape out of this poisoned earth are worth more gold. Your posts have made me laugh many times and for that I owe you thanks.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | September 2, 2013 | Reply

  7. Oh wow! Congratulations, that’s an amazing review! I haven’t read it yet (but I’m going to download it this weekend via my brother’s kindle) so I can’t say if it made me smile yet… however your posts on here ALWAYS make me smile, so I have to admit that I have high hopes! 🙂 x

    Comment by gina4star | August 30, 2013 | Reply

    • The pressure is on! I only hope that it hits your funny bone full on. By the way, your posts bring a bit of Mexican sunshine to my day too.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | September 2, 2013 | Reply

  8. May your happiness grow until it is bigger than a twenty five galaxy sized balloon and may it never burst.

    Comment by Christopher Meade | August 30, 2013 | Reply

    • Never heard that one before LOL, thanks mate.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | September 2, 2013 | Reply

  9. You might not believe this but I enjoyed your book such, that I have started to read it again… I’m sure you realise just how lucky you are to have survived the altitude sickness that you went through, but to have been able to recount it in a book and then have it published is even more lucky, a privilege we are not all given… so nothing corny about your blog my friend.. I have nothing but admiration for your achievement…

    Comment by bulldog | August 31, 2013 | Reply

  10. That’s a really nice thing to say. Thanks my friend.

    Comment by Danny Breslin | September 2, 2013 | Reply

  11. Fantastic!!! YAY!!! You truly deserve this for you are a fantastic writer! 🙂 Keep up the great work! You always make us laugh… 🙂

    Comment by colliesofthemeadow | September 14, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

