Danny Breslin

How it is…

Rise of the Lycan

wolfman

I love to hear about other peoples’ most embarrassing moments. I’ve suffered enough through my own mistakes and gaffes, why shouldn’t I enjoy the misery and shame of others? When you have read this I want you to share your most toe-curlingly embarrassing moments by clicking on comments. If you are so embarrassed that you don’t want others to know but are willing to share with me then drop me an email: dannybreslin@mail.com

This is one of my favourite stories ever and I still laugh out loud when I tell it:

When I was a courier the depot I worked out of was in Leicester. One day the area boss from Nottinghamshire, a guy called Khan, came to visit his Leicestershire counterpart. They stood in the car park chatting when the warehouse dispatcher, Chris, came out to them.

Chris had spotted a man hanging about in the car park. He described him to me after the event as a man of Indian or Pakistani appearance with a thick head of black collar length hair and a beard that went up to his cheekbones, basically you could just see his nose and eyes.

What happened next has become legend. Chris walked up to the two Area Directors and nodded towards the bearded man and said “What’s with the werewolf?”

Khan turned to him and answered “That’s my dad!”

September 13, 2013 - Posted by | Stuff and Nonsense | , , , , , ,

22 Comments »

  1. Oh No! Open mouth insert foot! I remember hanging out with my girlfriend at the mall and she asked me why guys like the bald headed look (she was talking about a 20 something year old guy in front of us). Well he overheard her conversation and stated I have no hair because I have cancer and I am going through chemo. I felt so awful and I think she wanted to dig a hole to crawl into!

    Comment by cravesadventure | September 13, 2013 | Reply

    • Oh my! I felt myself cringe at that one. Absolute cracker, thanks for sharing

      Comment by Danny Breslin | September 16, 2013 | Reply

  2. Impossible to name the best, but i did once sit next to a girl who i’d met at a party the night before and chatted away with her (more to her as i was still a little buzzed from the party) for at least ten minutes before realising the reason she wasn’t talking back was because she wasn’t in fact the girl i thought she was.

    Comment by john zande | September 13, 2013 | Reply

    • Should have said this all happened on a bus.

      Comment by john zande | September 13, 2013 | Reply

      • How many times have I done this myself? On the flip side I hate it when people remember me but I’ve got no clue who they are.

        Comment by Danny Breslin | September 16, 2013

  3. Gaffe fest,eh?! I have sooo many, will have to think which one to share with friends here.

    Take care!

    Comment by mj | September 13, 2013 | Reply

    • Remember, if it’s too embarrassing to share with everyone then you can always email me and we’ll keep it just between us – but I’ll want photos too!!!

      Comment by Danny Breslin | September 16, 2013 | Reply

      • Hmmm…. evidence too… lemme think!

        Comment by mj | September 16, 2013

  4. Oh Lord! That is bad. Once while I worked in the woods we were all going to our site in our crew bus. Because it was dark I didn’t notice who was on our crew that particular morning. I decided to share a new “hair lip” joke I had heard with those in the seat in front of me. Doing my best hair lip impression, I was surprised that I didn’t even get a chuckle apon the punch line. Come to find out, our only hair lip in the company had been put on our crew and was sitting behind me. I could have slinked into my own rectum if it were possible. And though I am quite sure I would have murdered my parents for naming me this, his first name was Harry.

    Comment by richardmax22 | September 13, 2013 | Reply

    • You are vile Richard! That’s terrible. You’re about as subtle as a house brick. I had to laugh though so I suppose that makes me just as bad.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | September 16, 2013 | Reply

  5. LOL…. thats when he should’ve replied “not him.. you!!!” hehehe… for my embarrassing moments just read my blog everyday… stinkin collies…

    Comment by colliesofthemeadow | September 14, 2013 | Reply

    • You can’t blame it all on the Collies Chuck. Most of it maybe…

      Comment by Danny Breslin | September 16, 2013 | Reply

  6. I was actually on the receiving end of someone else’s embarrassing moment. I drove out of the works car park in my green Ford Focus to visit a client, and halfway along the route spotted that a red Mini, woman driver, had been following me for quite a while. Didn’t think much of it. As I continued, she stayed with me, until the penultimate turn when I began to get suspicious. The final turn was down a narrow access road, where there are only a dozen houses, and where normally traffic would not venture without reason. I slowed down, wondering if she would follow me, took the turn, and locked my eyes on the rear view mirror. There she was, right behind me! I got to the property, which has a long driveway, parked on it, leaving just enough room for her to park behind me if she chose to, wondering what the heck was going on!!! She pulled up at the end of the driveway, I jumped out of the car and approached her, she immediately started stammering apologies, explaining that she thought she was following someone else, her own work supervisor and had been wondering why she was going where she was going. I took it at face value and she drove off, obviously very embarrassed 🙂

    Comment by Andy Szpuk | September 15, 2013 | Reply

    • That’s a little bit scary too, you could have had your bunnies boiled. Were your first words to her “It’s not my baby”?

      Comment by Danny Breslin | September 16, 2013 | Reply

      • I was too freaked out to even consider the possibilities!

        Comment by Andy Szpuk | September 16, 2013

  7. Oh my, that is embarrassing! LOL 😀

    A long, long time ago, when my brother and I were still living with our parents, two of his friends came home to visit. My mother knew Friend 01 pretty well. Friend 02 had recently got married and he brought his new wife along. Now his wife was not old-she was in her late 20’s I think, but her appearance didn’t do her any favours. She was big-built(bigger that her husband) and her dress sense didn’t exactly scream ‘trendsetter’.
    Anyways, Friend 01 entered through the door first and Friend 02, being the gentleman, allowed his wife in before him. When my mum saw Friend 01 she greeted him excitedly and on seeing the woman right behind him, she added: Oh so lovely, and you brought your mother as well!
    To this day, my brother has not lived this down… 😛

    Comment by Nisha | September 18, 2013 | Reply

    • On my life! I laughed until my belly ached after reading this. Please thank your mother for me and tell her she has been added to my list of all time heroes.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | September 21, 2013 | Reply

      • Well, at least she’s someone’s hero, definitely not my brother’s. But the embarrassment didn’t stop there. I was there for the aftermath of this faux pas and watching my mum try to overcompensate for her incredible mistake by constantly making remarks about how beautiful the woman was(which she wasn’t) was mortifying…

        Comment by Nisha | September 23, 2013

      • This just gets better and better. I actually cried with laughing while picturing the scene. Aren’t mothers great?
        Reminds me of a Punjabi girl I was very good friends with at university. Her mother didn’t like me because she thought I was up to no good with her daughter. Every time I went round there she would talk in Punjabi and always call me the gora. My friend would say “Mom, he understands Punjabi, he knows what you are saying.” (I can’t speak so much anymore by the way) That never stopped her. It was only when I took my fiancé round to meet them that she realised I wasn’t after her daughter, and I realised that not only could she speak English but she had a broad Wolverhampton accent!

        Comment by Danny Breslin | September 23, 2013

  8. haha, whoops the werewolf! Uff embarrassing… not sure I can do it… Aargh go on then, as a teenager throwing up on a bar (like literally, on it) while trying to order a drink has got to be pretty much one of the most cringey things I’ve done. I still can’t believe I did it. I was immediately, of course, thrown out of the club, which leads me to another embarrassment, as other than this, I’ve never been thrown out of anywhere! There you go, cringe! 🙂

    Comment by gina4star | September 20, 2013 | Reply

    • Oh lord! hehehehe that’s got me chuckling. Throwing up on a bar is pretty embarrassing, you have every right to cringe over it. Then again there is nothing embarrassing about being thrown out of places, it was a regular thing for me in my late teens/early twenties; it just meant you’d had a good night.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | September 20, 2013 | Reply

      • I know, almost ten years on and I still haven’t lived it down, not sure I ever will! Oh, I’m not used to being thrown out of places haha, though you make sense, on a cringe factor I would way rather be thrown out than throw up (on the bar!) Eeeek!

        Comment by gina4star | September 24, 2013


Leave a Reply

