Danny Breslin

How it is…

Great Reviews

It seems a few of you actually enjoyed reading my book Me & Gus on the Roof of the World, so much in fact that they have left some really great reviews on Amazon which I’ve put on my testimonials page just to show off. Here are some of the latest ones:

Brilliant, I couldn’t put it down!

I literally couldn’t put this book down. Whenever I had a spare moment, I found myself reading with anticipation to find out what happened next. Me and Gus on the Roof of the World is Danny Breslin’s first person account of a truly unforgettable trip of a lifetime to the Himalayas. Unexpectedly, much of the “unforgettable” “trip of a lifetime” parts of the story come from Danny’s experience with falling seriously ill with altitude sickness and eventually overcoming it. Firstly, I really enjoyed the story. And wow, what a story it is! Danny takes you right there along with him on his amazing journey, from the initial suggestion of the trip all the way through the planning, the excitement, the nerves, the travel, the arrival, the people, the emotions and the experiences, to the sickness, the delirium, the paranoia, and the hospitals. It really is a remarkable story, and reading it makes you realise how lucky Danny is to be here today to tell it! Mostly I enjoyed the way Danny told his story. He is such an excellent story-teller that for the best part of the book I honestly felt like we were mates, and he was telling me face to face over a pint and a packet of crisps in the pub. He is also incredibly funny. I lost count of the number of times I chuckled out loud. What was particularly impressive is that Danny’s humour never wavered neither in his story-telling nor evidently during what was clearly a terrifying ordeal. I would truly love to know what the “nagging nurse” made of him! I have to say that I thoroughly enjoyed Me and Gus on the Roof of the World for so many reasons and I thoroughly recommend it. This book has a bit of everything; travel, trauma, tenderness, humour (actually it has a lot of humour) all told by a genuine, down-to-earth, all round top bloke. I know that altitude sickness is no light matter, but thank you Danny for sharing your experiences in such a light, entertaining, and refreshing way. Gina4Star

Great Storytelling!

Danny is a great story teller! I felt like I was sitting on a stool in the pub listening to him tell his story real-time. He brings everyone to life and creates so clear of a visual you can actually see the adventure unfold. Though he easily could have died on this adventure, his humor never wavers.  He had me snickering and snorting throughout the book! Denise Hisey

Great read!!!!

Well what can you say, both amusing and touching, written with a vision which almost puts you with the author on his travels, you can almost visualise the scenarios (good job you can’t smell though). Looking forward to further tales. Pen Name

 

Not bad eh? So if you haven’t read it yet, then just pop along to your local Amazon site and download it to your e-reader, or tablet with the kindle app. If you are a complete Luddite and don’t have the sort of gadgetry I’m talking about then you are going to have to wait a few days until it comes out in paperback – see how good I am to you? In the meantime you can have a glance at the outline.

If you have already gone through it and you weren’t too disappointed with it then please give me a (kind) review on Amazon/Goodreads etc. or better yet tell your family, friends and followers about it with a blog post.

If you want to talk to me about this or anything then drop me an email: dannybreslin@mail.com – and keep it clean!

September 25, 2013 - Posted by | Me & Gus on the Roof of the World, Reviews, Travel, Writing Your First Book | , , , , , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. I love the reviews and agree with them all…

    Comment by bulldog | September 25, 2013 | Reply

  2. No techy gadgets here; will have to wait for the paperback. :Can’t wait to read it, tho!

    Comment by MisBehaved Woman | September 25, 2013 | Reply

  3. Couldn’t agree more!
    You can make the reader smile even in the hardest situations!
    To sum it up [not a word handler here!], an excellent read! 🙂

    Comment by marina kanavaki | September 25, 2013 | Reply

  4. I’ve just got started on the book and am enjoying it so far! Its great that you have something to show off here Danny. Keep at it.

    Comment by Yaz | September 25, 2013 | Reply

  5. Delighted to see you have got some more great reviews Danny. I know one or two people who said they would buy your book in paperback. I will have to let them know that the can in a frw days.

    Comment by Christopher Meade | September 25, 2013 | Reply

  6. I should have said “few days”. Bloody typos.

    Comment by Christopher Meade | September 25, 2013 | Reply

  7. 🙂 The reviews were great because your book is great! 🙂

    Comment by gina4star | October 10, 2013 | Reply

  8. […] suddenly just under 2500 metres above sea level, I struggled a lot (not as much as some people, Danny B = another level of altitude suffering!) As beautiful as Zacatecas is, I cursed the hills, steep […]

    Pingback by You Snooze, You Lose! | A 4star Life | October 28, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

