Danny Breslin

How it is…

Happy, healthy, wealthy and wise

Learning to be Grateful: the Key to Happiness

I’m not a lifestyle guru; I’m not trying to sell you a set of CDs that promise great wealth or a longer, more fulfilled life. I’ve written this post just because I wanted to share with you what makes me happy. If there is something in your life that is blocking your path to happiness, I hope that this might help you in some way – no charge!

I’ve got a mantra that I say to myself every day: happy, healthy, wealthy and wise. Just that, just those four words. Why do I say that? I say that because that is what I’m aiming for in my life, what I am trying to achieve and it makes me feel good inside.

Happy: Finding joy in the smallest of things.

Healthy: Living and breathing.

Wealthy: I’m not talking mega rich; this is simply about having enough.

Wise: Learning something new every day.

This is important stuff; too many people are suffering from stress. I should know, I used to suffer with its ill-effects myself. Their lives are being made less tolerable and even cut short by stress. Stress is a killer.

Don’t worry, be happy.

By making just a few adjustments to your outlook, you can change your whole life. Here’s how I did it:

I stopped worrying about everything. I used to worry if I had nothing to worry about. The late comedian Bob Monkhouse once said:

“Worrying is like paying interest on something you might never own.”

I don’t know if he made that up or was quoting someone else but it made me sit up and think. Bob’s right! All these stupid little things that I worry about may never happen, so why am I wasting my time and energy on them?

A friend of mine always says to himself: “What’s the worst that could happen?” If he can deal with the very worst case scenario then why worry about it happening?

I made a list of everything I was grateful for. I included obvious things like my wife, family, friends, pets, house, car etc. But I also included things like having plenty to eat, having a creative talent, having the chance to better myself.

If things are tough at the moment, why don’t you make your own list? Think about what you could include, what you have in your life to be grateful for. Write it down, I think you’ll be impressed just how long your list is.

Do you have a mantra? Something that helps you through the day? Drop me a comment and let me know what it is.

October 14, 2013 - Posted by | Stuff and Nonsense | , , , , , , ,

26 Comments »

  1. If you want to live a happy life, tie it to a goal. Not to people or things.
    –Albert Einstein

    Comment by ladyofthecakes | October 14, 2013 | Reply

    • Absolutely Mr Einstein, but can I suggest you visit my barber up on the high street? £6 and you’re sorted old son.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | October 14, 2013 | Reply

      • It’s all relative 😉

        Comment by ladyofthecakes | October 14, 2013

  2. Hi Danny, that’s a NICE post at the start of the week.

    Hmmm… my magic mantra to get thru a bad day, a bad phase…’This, too, shall pass!’
    The good days pass in a blur and I still say, ‘This, too, shall pass!’… keeps me grounded.

    Btw, I like your new typography. More readable.

    Have a great week! Stay happy, healthy, wealthy and wise! 🙂

    Comment by mj | October 14, 2013 | Reply

  3. This, too, shall pass! Yes, I like that – is it sometimes hissed through gritted teeth?
    The typography changed because I typed it in Word first then pasted it in. I see what you mean about readability though, perhaps I should do that more often. I could always change the theme but I really like the one I’ve got.
    You have a great week too and say ‘hi’ to the class for me.
    Oh yeah, I know what I meant to say to you, can you get them to add the ‘follow by email button’ to their sidebars if they haven’t already. Then I’ll know when they’ve posted. Cheers.

    Comment by Danny Breslin | October 14, 2013 | Reply

  4. Thank you for responding on my blog… cause it brought me back to yours and this post was exactly what I needed!! (so here’s a bit of gratitude towards you). I always tell myself ‘everything is always alright’…. because I think stress stems from fighting what is, fighting the current moment… and I’m a biggg stress-head haha.
    So whatever happens, it’s alright. And once you’ve embraced and accepted that what is, you will find gratitude in more and more little things. Thanks for your post… I’m going to make my list today!

    Comment by Judith Willems | October 14, 2013 | Reply

    • I’m glad you liked this post and if it helps in any way then I’m happy.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | October 14, 2013 | Reply

  5. I love your mantra, and no we don’t have one so I think I’ll adopt it 🙂
    We’re both continually conscious of, and grateful for the life we have. It all seems like a miracle. I think gratitude it just about the most powerful thing there is. I can hear people say – it’s easy to be grateful when you “have everything”, etc . without them understanding that it’s the gratitude for the smaller things, like breath, like a clear blue sky, like a smile, like this moment, that brings the “more”. Great post Danny.

    Comment by Alison | October 14, 2013 | Reply

  6. I like this Danny! Thank you! 🙂 I have been a bit stressed lately, wasting a hell of a lot of time and energy on silly things, and for what! I’m going to try really hard to think about this when I let things get on top of me, and hopefully push them that bit further down… 🙂

    Comment by gina4star | October 14, 2013 | Reply

    • Here’s something I might suggest, but you can only do this when you’re alone. Learn the lyrics to some songs by the same band then put them on the speakers and pretend you’re on stage and sing your arse off. Feels great!

      Comment by Danny Breslin | October 14, 2013 | Reply

      • Haha, being tone deaf, this is definitely something I will only ever do alone!!! 🙂 x

        Comment by gina4star | October 14, 2013

      • One day I’ll let you buy me a pint and I’ll tell you about the impromptu Stiff Little Fingers concert at my mate’s house one xmas eve. So embarrassing you can’t tell anyone else!

        Comment by Danny Breslin | October 15, 2013

  7. Ah, yes, we have a saying here: “better healthy and rich than ill and poor”!! 😆
    Love your mantra. Mine is a bit similar: “thank you”. That’s it really. You can’t imagine what smile this word brings as you are forced to think of good things only!
    Happy Monday, Danny! 🙂

    Comment by marina kanavaki | October 14, 2013 | Reply

  8. My mantra is “Keep On Keeping On”! Happy Monday!

    Comment by cravesadventure | October 14, 2013 | Reply

    • I’m going back a few years but wasn’t that the title of a song by The Redskins? Showing my age now!

      Comment by Danny Breslin | October 14, 2013 | Reply

      • I have no idea Danny. I would have to do some research on that.

        Comment by cravesadventure | October 15, 2013

  9. I would rather be bored than tired. I’ve always been a lazy sod.

    Comment by Christopher Meade | October 14, 2013 | Reply

  10. Even the Bible says that worrying will not change one minute happening of tomorrow. By the way, thank you so much for turning me on to DutchJudy. She is a joy to read.

    Comment by richardmax22 | October 14, 2013 | Reply

  11. Happiness is golden! Best when shared with others 🙂
    I think my posts display many of my mantras ~ bubbles, pups, pandas, friends and music are some! 🙂

    Comment by mirrorsndreams | October 15, 2013 | Reply

    • Your sunny outlook is inspirational.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | October 15, 2013 | Reply

  12. Awesome advice, Danny! I made my list last year in the throes of massive changes. Today, I look at that list for strength. It’s amazing how much it changes a person when all the good things in life are on a white piece of paper with your thoughts of thanks!

    Comment by Jack Flacco | October 21, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

