Danny Breslin

How it is…

Scary movie

I watched World War Z last night and while it was a good film and I enjoyed it, it wasn’t that scary. Although I’m not keen on zombies that can run, that’s just not fair!

I don’t get scared by horror films, most of them are a bit lame. One scene in a film that does make me jump every time, and it shouldn’t because I know it’s coming – I think I’ve seen the film four times over the years, is when the head rolls into the hole in the side of the sunken boat in Jaws. Every single bloody time! I know it’s about to happen, I tell myself the head is about to roll then AGH!!!

Stupid!

I’ve just been watching a film that scared the living bejesus out of me. There are no zombies, ghosts, vampires, werewolves or mad slashers. Nobody is being stalked, chased, eaten alive or brutally mutilated. There isn’t even a shark in sight. Yet chills ran up and down my spine.

So, do you want to see a scary movie? Do you really? Are you sure? Then draw the curtains, turn off the lights and make sure the doors are all locked because this one WILL kill you.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eUd9rRSLY4A

 

 

October 23, 2013 - Posted by | Stuff and Nonsense | , , , , , ,

29 Comments »

  1. I love world war Z and I’m a big fan of scary movies.

    Comment by ἇRVℎℰℰ | October 23, 2013 | Reply

    • It’s not as bad as I expected. You see I read the book first so I expected Hollywood to make a pigs ear of it like they usually do.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | October 23, 2013 | Reply

  2. We watched World War Z a few nights ago. I wasn’t particularly scared either, but it was very fast paced and tense at times. Not really what I should have been watching considering I’ve had a bit of a fluttery heart lately. But ah well, it was an all right film.

    Comment by Ishaiya | October 23, 2013 | Reply

    • Yeah, you take it easy on that ticker.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | October 23, 2013 | Reply

      • I’ve had my fill of Zombie flicks now I can tell you!

        Comment by Ishaiya | October 23, 2013

      • Tch…such a girl 🙂

        Comment by Danny Breslin | October 23, 2013

      • Nope, I’ve just seen ’em all and I’m getting bored of them now. At least they are evolving in films, generally getting faster as you pointed out. ‘I Am Legend’ with Will Smith I think was the start of that. Also had an edge of the ‘Mummy Returns’ about it, the undead foot-soldiers of the Pharaoh were a bit nippy too, bounding across the side of buildings and all.

        Comment by Ishaiya | October 23, 2013

  3. Oh no, I’ve got no time for scary films. I think I’m the polar opposite of you, I get scared by the silliest things! If I see a scary film in the cinema (or even a thriller haha) I spend half the film with my eyes closed or hiding behind my jacket. I didn’t really like World War Z, it freaked me out, although I don’t generally like zombies. I always get scared by things that could really actually happen… I don’t think I’ll be watching you scary recommendation but thank you! 🙂

    Comment by gina4star | October 23, 2013 | Reply

    • Miss 4star, you never fail to put a smile on my face. I’m not overly keen on zombies because I always say there can’t be much more painful than being eaten by something with blunt teeth. I do enjoy zombie films though. The film is about GMO foods, I promise you won’t have to hide behind your jacket. It’s worth a look though, it’ll probably change your eating habits.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | October 23, 2013 | Reply

      • 🙂 ditto! Oooh OK then, it’s not an actual horror film? I will give it a look then! 🙂

        Comment by gina4star | October 23, 2013

  4. Scary indeed, Danny!

    Comment by marina kanavaki | October 23, 2013 | Reply

  5. This new movie coming out called, “The Conjuring” is supposed to be pretty bad…or good. However one looks at having the living bejeesus scared out of them. Another is “Carrie,” but don’t know much about that one. Either case, they’re all yours!!!!

    Comment by richardmax22 | October 23, 2013 | Reply

  6. Very impressive and pretty scary. Monsanto have a very bad reputation in India, where many farmers have killed themselves because they became enslaved to the corporation and couldn’t afford to keep buying the new seeds. With all the international travel nowadays, the contaminated pollen has probably already spread all round the world. Not good for our long term survival prospects, I’m afraid.

    Comment by Christopher Meade | October 23, 2013 | Reply

    • I’m not religious but what was that thing in Revelations about not being able to buy or sell unless you bore the mark?

      Comment by Danny Breslin | October 23, 2013 | Reply

  7. The movie Signs does it for me every time with the living room scene with the reflection in the TV – have to sleep with the lights on – ha! Happy Hump Day!

    Comment by cravesadventure | October 23, 2013 | Reply

    • Oh dear, don’t be such a girl. 😉

      Comment by Danny Breslin | October 24, 2013 | Reply

  8. The problem with the horror movie genre is that its very easy for a director/screenwriter to mess it up.
    A lot of movies I found scary as a kid, are just so lame now. I’m eager but also a little bit reluctant to see the tv show of Stephen King’s IT. It’s etched in my memory because it was so chilling but I’m afraid I might be disappointed if I see it now.

    Comment by Nisha | October 23, 2013 | Reply

    • Pennywise the clown? Oh wow yeah – I remember him. Now he was scary!

      Comment by Danny Breslin | October 23, 2013 | Reply

  9. The only thing scary around here is the old guy in the morning.. hehehe
    -the naughty collies

    Comment by colliesofthemeadow | October 24, 2013 | Reply

  10. I don’t like zombies… that’s a certainty. And as a rule, don;t watch zombie flicks. Let’s talk rom coms….:)

    Comment by mj | October 24, 2013 | Reply

    • Rom coms? ermmm….no!

      Comment by Danny Breslin | November 6, 2013 | Reply

      • Well, rom-coms are nice, when I’m feeling low. I love Bond films, especially Sean Connery. But being what I am, I like films that tell a story well. A good story.

        Comment by mj | November 21, 2013

  11. The words leading up to the link made it irresistible I had to look.
    You wrote it scared you and yes the fear is real.
    The unreal fears are designed to distract from the real fears.
    We need to stop feeding on rubbish as entertainment
    and feed only on what is good wholesome and natural.
    Thanks Danny for opening peoples eyes to real horror.

    Comment by jacksjottings | October 28, 2013 | Reply

    • My pleasure. It’s amazing that I could get fined by my local council for putting the wrong rubbish in the recycling bin yet these criminals can poison the world and not only get away with it but are protected by lawmakers and cream off huge profits for doing it.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | October 28, 2013 | Reply

      • Changing the subject I started to write a fiction story. Writing can be fun when I just fantasise. I do not know how it would appeal to others. I may put it out there one day and see. All the best to you Danny.

        Comment by jacksjottings | October 31, 2013

      • Get it done Jack. I’ll read it.

        Comment by Danny Breslin | November 1, 2013


Leave a Reply

