Danny Breslin

How it is…

Overcome Your Fear of Flying

cd-sp-booklet.pdf

Anybody who has read Me & Gus on  the Roof of the World will know I’ve never been a good flyer. It’s the control thing I reckon because I’m not the best passenger in a car either, I prefer to drive than be driven. I’m not a control freak though, not at all, folks can do what they want as long as they don’t step on my toes. I might have trust issues…hmm yeah that’s probably it. I just think I can do the job properly, why should I trust someone else to look after me? I’m going to have to learn to fly.

After watching the film Flight these beliefs seem to be proven right. What with him turning up to fly when he’s been drinking and had no sleep because he’s been he-ing and she-ing with the trolley dolly, then to wake himself up he does a line of coke! Would you want him piloting your plane? Okay so he miraculously lands it against all the odds – not a spoiler – but he shouldn’t have been in the air.

“It’s just a film!” you cry. Is it really? How many pilots, if they were brutally honest, would tell you, hand on heart that they were 100% fit to fly every time?

I don’t like flying!!!

Here’s something that I’ll be using from now on because I refuse to let it ground me. If you feel the same as me and still want to go out and see the world then try this out: Overcome your fear of flying by Marion McGeough (yes she’s been at it again.) As well as her reiki and crystals and stuff she’s also a qualified hypnotherapist. I won’t let her in the house because I’m sure she’s trying to put me under.

Anyway, this stuff works because I’ve let her hypnotise me before (I won’t tell you what for) and it has had great results. So if you’ve got any concerns about flying then give this a go.

I’m not getting paid for this you know…dammit!

October 28, 2013 - Posted by | Stuff and Nonsense | , , , , ,

11 Comments »

  1. That might be a great thing for a lot of us to try. I did try hypnosis twice. I’m afraid it didn’t work too well. Neither of the hypnotists could put me under. It seems to work great for most people though.

    Comment by Christopher Meade | October 28, 2013 | Reply

    • Many people are like that and can’t be hypnotised. Would the term be ‘unputunderable’?

      Comment by Danny Breslin | November 1, 2013 | Reply

  2. Since I have to fly so often, I just treat the experience as another car trip to anywhere. There are risks with both, of course. You just have to get occupied with other thoughts and/or activities. Best wishes for future take-offs! http://ohtheplaceswesee.com

    Comment by Rusha Sams | October 28, 2013 | Reply

    • Thanks Rusha. I know there’s risks in both but the chances of surviving a car crash are a little higher than going into the ground like a dart! I think they tell me to assume the crash position so when I put my head between my legs I have a chance to kiss my little pink arse goodbye.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | November 1, 2013 | Reply

  3. My wife has a terrible phobia with flying. When forced to she smooths off the corners with a good tranquilizer. Myself, I have mellowed out. For whatever reason, it doesn’t bother me anymore. But when I was young, and in the military, it petrified me. But one also has to take into consideration that back in the 60’s flying was more of an adventure. Airline crashes were not that uncommon, and I had my share of “shit-my-pants” moments that strengthened my fears. And I have only once flown in a small airplane, but never again. That was my post you read about my trip to Canada, Rising To The Challenge.

    Comment by richardmax22 | October 28, 2013 | Reply

    • Yes and didn’t that make me laugh. I once flew to Germany in what was little more than a crop duster so I feel your pain my friend.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | November 1, 2013 | Reply

  4. “He-ing and She-ing”, what a fantastic term 🙂

    Comment by Ishaiya | October 28, 2013 | Reply

  5. I’m not a fan of traveling, either. Say what?! No really. I like the being in foreign places part; what I don’t like is the getting there part. So good for you for pushing yourself and trying to find ways to fight your fear!!! It is always worth it in the end.

    Comment by Jessica | October 30, 2013 | Reply

    • Why can’t we teleport like on Star Trek?

      Comment by Danny Breslin | November 1, 2013 | Reply

      • I know! Wouldn’t that be great?!

        Comment by Jessica | November 2, 2013


Leave a Reply

