Danny Breslin

How it is…

Bogged down

I haven’t been around for a little while so sorry about that my friends and loved ones – yeah, you know who you are! I’ve been so bogged down doing stuff for other people that it might seem that I’ve been ignoring you. I did my best with a couple of links to articles that I thought might interest you but if that left you feeling unfulfilled, if you crave your regular dose of Breslin medicine then I apologise for my absence and say to you don’t worry, Danny’s back!

I’ve been wondering what I should write about next on this blog. Maybe travel tales?  I’ve already told you about things that happened in Germany (my favourite story ever), France and Belgium, special memories from India and almost causing a bloodbath in Tunisia. And if you’ve read Me & Gus on the Roof of the World then you’ll know all about and been highly entertained by my visit to Nepal, Tibet and China. You’re so cruel to find that funny.

Would you like to know what happened the couple of times I went to Amsterdam? Well forget it because so would I…! If my friend Dutch Judy is reading this, maybe she could let me know if she’s heard anything?

So where else? Maybe Canada? St. Lucia? Other forays into Europe? I can’t go into my journey around South Africa because that’s supposed to be my next book, if I ever get it written.

I’ve told you tales from when I was at university, living in the Halls of Residence in the first year and annoying my friend Kate the other two years. Occasionally I’ve mentioned one or two things from my often shady past, but I have to be careful what I write because you never know who might be reading. Mind you, thanks to Edward Snowden we know full well who is reading.

I’ll drop some more short stories like The Match, First Impressions and Lasting Impressions on you in the coming months but you’ve got to ask nicely.

Hit the comments button and tell me what you want from me – and keep it clean! Yeah, you know who you are too!!!

I’ll sign off now until next week but I’ll leave you only after asking you this one favour: if you have read my book Me & Gus on the Roof of the World whether in paperback or as an eBook, and you have enjoyed it, please help me out and leave a review on your local Amazon, if you haven’t already. Oh, and please tell all your friends to read it too if that’s okay?  You don’t know how much I appreciate that simple act of kindness.

Luv ya

 

 

November 15, 2013 - Posted by | Travel | , , , , , , , , , , ,

19 Comments »

  1. Write about where you are — wherever you are! You’ve got a gift!

    Comment by Rusha Sams | November 15, 2013 | Reply

    • That’s very sweet of you. It’s comments like this make me want to write. Thanks.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | November 20, 2013 | Reply

  2. Another one of those brilliant short stories would be really nice.

    Comment by Christopher Meade | November 15, 2013 | Reply

  3. I’d love to know about your visit(s) to India! Please share those memories with us, if you don’t mind? 🙂

    Comment by mirrorsndreams | November 15, 2013 | Reply

  4. Tell us what you’re thinking about now. Passion drives great writing.

    Comment by Jessica | November 15, 2013 | Reply

    • I’m watching England play Chile and we’re losing 1-0 so right now you really don’t want to know what I’m thinking!

      Comment by Danny Breslin | November 15, 2013 | Reply

      • Uh oh! Well, later then… 😀

        Comment by Jessica | November 18, 2013

      • Bloody football, I don’t know why I bother!

        Comment by Danny Breslin | November 20, 2013

  5. Aw Danny… you are one heck of a magnet! Look how the stories stick to you!

    So, go on, tell us what happened in Amsterdam with the pretty woman… 🙂

    Comment by mj | November 21, 2013 | Reply

    • Uh? What pretty woman? Oh dear, what have you heard? Seriously, I was mashed. All the lads I travelled with were in a similar state too so there’s no point asking them. I don’t think it matters that much because it was a few years ago before I met Mrs Breslin.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | November 21, 2013 | Reply

      • Yeah. I believe you! You are good lad, always were! I could vouch for you to Mrs B. but I’m sure she knows what a gem she has.

        … so, what happened to the nice lady in Hong Kong?!

        Comment by mj | November 26, 2013

      • Eh? What nice lady in Hong Kong? Now I am worried! I can remember Chengdu and Shanghai but ladies…?

        Comment by Danny Breslin | November 26, 2013

  6. I don’t mind what you write about Danny, as long as you write! 🙂

    Comment by gina4star | November 26, 2013 | Reply

    • You might regret those ill chosen words one day, what if you inspired a character in one of my books?

      Comment by Danny Breslin | November 26, 2013 | Reply

  7. Haha ive heard more than enough disturbing things that happened in A’dam…. Wouldnt be surprised if you were involved in any of these happenings. But, friendly as I am, what happened in Amsterdam, will stay in Amsterdam ;). I hope you remember one of the stories one day!

    Ps. How did you like Amsterdam? Please tell me you did more than weed and the red light district?

    Comment by Judith Willems | November 30, 2013 | Reply

    • No coffee shops I’m afraid and we only waved at the girls in the windows as we passed through, boring I know. Sadly we only did what we would have been doing if we stayed home = give the beer a hammering!
      I’ll ask around and see if anyone remembers anything specific and I’ll report back to you. I keep getting a hazy memory of threatening a man in a gorilla suit. hmmm I’ll find out and let you know.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | December 4, 2013 | Reply

  8. Know the feeling about being bogged down… sigh….write about anything.. I always laugh for your adventures are a riot! 🙂

    Comment by colliesofthemeadow | December 10, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

