Danny Breslin

How it is…

The Great Phone Chase

I’ve mentioned some of my friends in previous posts and before I begin this story I just want to clear up any confusion. Down my local there is a Bri, who features in my book Me & Gus on the Roof of the World, a Baggy Bri and a Baggy – three totally separate people, you follow me so far? This story is about one of them: young Baggy.

Now, for reasons that I won’t go into, Baggy calls me Dad. You can whine, whinge and beg but I won’t tell you the history behind that sordid little tale. The following is a story that Gus told me and Baggy admitted to under later intense interrogation.

Last weekend Baggy woke up on a Saturday morning, after a heavy drinking session with his mates. Not for the first time he couldn’t find his phone. He’s always losing his phone/keys/wallet etc. He has another phone that he uses for work so, after spending the morning looking for it, he used the Where’s My Phone app to find out where he’d left it this time. The map came up with a location in Atherstone, about 10 miles from Tamworth. Even his befuddled brain told him that he hadn’t been to Atherstone the night before, so he reasoned: “Some little chav from there has nicked it.”

Bent on revenge and filled with righteous fury he jumped in his van and headed over to Atherstone to get it back, and possibly inflict a modicum of harm on the perp. Upon arrival in the middle of the town he checked the app again for a more precise reading. He was a bit surprised to find that it was now in Lichfield, the thief was on the move but he wasn’t going to escape!

Baggy was by now in a rage as he drove the 15 or so miles to Lichfield. Whoever it was would pay dearly for this. Upon arrival in the centre of Lichfield, Baggy again checked the app for a precise location. It was now in Tamworth again! “What the…?”

It might have been on the 5 mile drive back to Tamworth that he realised that maybe his phone might be wedged down the back of the seat in the taxi he went home in the night before…

I’m putting him up for adoption!

March 10, 2014 - Posted by | Stuff and Nonsense | , , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. Hahahaha! LOVE this story! Also, please, pretty please, pleeeeeeeeease tell me why he calls you dad? 😉

    Comment by cupitonians | March 10, 2014 | Reply

    • Noooooooo!!!!!!! We must have some secrets my friend.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | March 10, 2014 | Reply

      • Pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeease?

        Comment by cupitonians | March 10, 2014

      • Lol…stop it! 😀

        Comment by Danny Breslin | March 10, 2014

      • 😀 See how nice I am?

        Comment by cupitonians | March 10, 2014

      • Always known that 😉

        Comment by Danny Breslin | March 10, 2014

  2. This could have been me. In fact, I think I’ve donated half of my life savings to the taxi industry. For what it’s worth, Baggy had a great fake dad.

    Comment by Judith Willems | March 10, 2014 | Reply

  3. Oh Lord, brain fart time!

    Comment by richardmax22 | March 10, 2014 | Reply

  4. Brilliant!!

    Comment by jamiejlg1986 | March 10, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

