Danny Breslin

How it is…

When you’re smiling…

happy

I know you think I’m grumpy, and often fly into a rant, but the truth is most of the time – probably around 90% of the time but who’s counting? – I’ve got a smile on my face. It might be because I’ve finally toppled over the edge into insanity, perhaps it’s because I’m lazy and found out that it takes less muscles to smile than it does to frown, or perhaps I know a secret and I’m refusing to share it? Whatever the reason you might suspect for this irrational behaviour, the simple truth is: (drum roll) I’m happy!

Smiling fact: Smiling is good for you, it makes you feel good, it boosts your immune system (science), it’s more infectious than a virus and spreads from person to person lighting up the world. Even on a day like today where the rain is drumming against my window. 

I haven’t any particular reason to be happy, apart from being alive, having a roof over my head and food in my belly, having friends, a family and a wife who doesn’t nag me too much – probably around 90% of the time but who’s counting? What’s not to smile about?

Smiling fact: Smiling is not learned a learned behaviour by babies, something picked up by watching their parents, they are born with the ability. Even babies born blind can smile.

I smile at everyone I meet, a particularly dangerous practice where I grew up because people think you’re taking the piss, but hell I do it anyway and smile even more if it winds them up! I smile at people who serve me in shops and in coffee shops and restaurants, why not? Their day is only made longer by serving people who are so miserable and self-involved that they can’t even raise a smile.  Whereas if someone smiles at them and says thanks then it makes them smile too which they can pass on to their next customer. The customer then in turn takes that smile home with them and gives it to the rest of the family who will take it with them to school, work whatever! See how great this is?

Smiling fact: When you pass someone you know in the street and exchange greetings accompanied by a smile, there is a direct correlation between how much you like that person and the number of steps you take before you stop smiling. (Okay I made that up but I bet its true.)

So go on, hit the comments button and give me a smile like this  : )

“When you’re smiling, when you’re smi-ling, the whoooole wooooorld smiiiiles wiiiiiith youuuuuuu.”

 

June 27, 2014 - Posted by | Stuff and Nonsense | , , , ,

22 Comments »

  1. 🙂

    Comment by mimijk | June 27, 2014 | Reply

  2. yes yes yes
    I’ve become really conscious in recent years of really engaging with anyone who serves me – in hotel, shop, restaurant, whatever. You could say it’s selfish – if I smile and look them in the eye and treat them like an actual real person and be openhearted – I feel better. And I’m fairly sure they do too. It makes me happy 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Comment by Alison and Don | June 27, 2014 | Reply

    • Yes, it doesn’t take a lot of effort to make the day a bit better all around. : ).

      Comment by Danny Breslin | June 27, 2014 | Reply

  3. I agree…I thin a lot of us grew up thinking smiling when we weren’t ecstatic was some sort of lie. But it’s a social act, with very real and important consequences.

    Comment by eyeontheuniverse | June 27, 2014 | Reply

    • I never stopped smiling when I was a kid, then never smiled at all as a teenager (like most teenagers). The last few years though I’m much more relaxed and happy, I just want to share it with others.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | June 27, 2014 | Reply

  4. 🙂

    Comment by The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap | June 27, 2014 | Reply

  5. A smile is perhaps your greatest tool and your most formidable weapon 🙂

    Comment by Ishaiya | June 27, 2014 | Reply

    • Tsk…only a woman would think such a thing. Lol

      Comment by Danny Breslin | June 27, 2014 | Reply

      • Trying saying that with a smile!

        Comment by Ishaiya | June 27, 2014

      • : )

        Comment by Danny Breslin | June 27, 2014

  6. Gladly smiling back, Danny! 🙂 🙂
    Right after breathing, the smile is elementary for so many things…
    Happy weekend, my friend …and some more: 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Comment by marina kanavaki | June 27, 2014 | Reply

    • Marina, one of my oldest friends in the blogosphere (I don’t mean your age by the way), you’ve brought me many smiles in the last couple of years. Still loving your work and Bones still loves you! Here’s a big soggy kiss from him = X

      Comment by Danny Breslin | June 27, 2014 | Reply

      • Awww, Danny thank you! It just hit me – 2 years! Where did they run off to?!!!! Happy to know you, my friend.
        Please don’t be jealous, but will you give a kiss back to sweet Bones?! 😉

        Comment by marina kanavaki | June 28, 2014

      • Do you mind if I tell him you’ve sent him one because I ain’t gonna kissing him!

        Comment by Danny Breslin | June 28, 2014

      • I suppose he’ll understand, so okay!! 😉

        Comment by marina kanavaki | June 28, 2014

  7. I don’t think you’re grumpy. 😉

    Comment by The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap | June 30, 2014 | Reply

    • Thanks but I don’t know if Mrs B would agree. : D

      Comment by Danny Breslin | June 30, 2014 | Reply

  8. Beautiful reminder and SO true!! 😀
    Smiling really is the cure for what ails us most of the time!
    ~ Andrea ❤

    Comment by When in New Places | July 2, 2014 | Reply

  9. This made me smile! 🙂

    Comment by gina4star | July 3, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

