Danny Breslin

How it is…

Is Darren there?

I’ve not been in the best of moods today thanks to a speeding fine that just dropped through my letterbox. 37mph in a 30mph zone it reckons – so I’m being fined £100 for 7mph? And to be honest I’m not sure I was even going that fast when I passed the camera/spy van; and another thing, surely that’s entrapment or something? Damn it!

I was just nicely simmering over that when the phone rang:

Me: Hello.

Her: Is that you Darren?

Me: No, I think you’ve got the wrong number.

Her: Oh, sorry about that.

Me: No problem.

I returned to my seat but, no sooner had I sat down, the phone rang again:

Me: Hello.

Her: Is that you Darren?

Me: No, wrong number again.

Her: Oh, that’s strange, I thought I’d dialled it right. Is Darren there at all?

Me: What, you mean in the house? I’ll just check…no, it’s the wrong number.

Her: Oh, sorry again.

Me: That’s okay, I had to get up to answer the phone anyway.

I went back to my seat and was just lowering myself down when the phone rang yet again – surely not?

Me: Hello.

Her: Is that you Darren?

Me: Yes.

Her: Oh thank God, I kept dialling the wrong number and a right miserable sod kept answering.

Me: Some people eh?

Her: That’s not Darren is it?

Me: Noooo, it’s the miserable sod..

Click

August 21, 2014 - Posted by | Stuff and Nonsense | ,

12 Comments »

  1. Oh Darren!
    Not having the greatest of days are you?

    Comment by originalapplejunkie | August 21, 2014 | Reply

  2. BRILLIANT!!!!!!!! 😆

    Comment by marina kanavaki | August 21, 2014 | Reply

    • I’m not always miserable Marina, honest!

      Comment by Danny Breslin | August 21, 2014 | Reply

      • There is not an ounce of misery in you, my friend! 😉 Bones would concur! 🙂

        Comment by marina kanavaki | August 21, 2014

      • Hmm, not sure he would – he’s not allowed to get away with his mischief!

        Comment by Danny Breslin | August 21, 2014

  3. Poop on the ticket! Wish I could wave a magic wand and have that whole thing disappear!

    Comment by The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap | August 21, 2014 | Reply

  4. Darren is probably on his way round to yours to thump you for pissing off his girlfriend. I hope he’s not a heavyweight boxer.

    Comment by Christopher Meade | August 21, 2014 | Reply

    • True, I reached my limit against a super middleweight in a nightclub a few years ago. I had trouble chewing my toast the next morning, but I reckon he still remembers.

      Comment by Danny Breslin | August 21, 2014 | Reply

  5. Oh what a day!
    Days like that we can all do without – eh?

    Comment by RoSy | September 9, 2014 | Reply

    • I guess you’ve got to take the rough with the smooth and keep smiling ; )

      Comment by Danny Breslin | September 9, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

